Find the answer to your Linux question:
I've been running Slack 11 on my MSI board for some time now ( 6 months + ) without any problems: athlon64 x2-5000+ / 2 x GbE nforce onboard ethernet ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Slack12: 2 x forcedeth interfaces -1 working

I've been running Slack 11 on my MSI board for some time now ( 6 months + ) without any problems:

athlon64 x2-5000+ / 2 x GbE nforce onboard ethernet / 2G mem / sata 250 x 2 / geforce 7200

I recently installed slack12 and didn't notice any issues until I tried to install a custom kernel ( 2.6.22.6 ). My adsl link refused to come up ( 2nd ethernet ) and I realised that the link light on my adsl modem ( to the pc ) was off.

'ifconfig eth1 down/up' makes no difference ...

I tried a really minimal kernel but as soon as the forcedeth module initialises the 2nd interface, the link goes down. I've not had this on slack11, the default hugesmp slack12 kernel nor on that ethernet port and I know the port is fine because it works fine with default slack12 kernel.

I've checked the udev statements in /etc/udev/rules.d/75-network-devices.rules and they are fine. I've also tried booting with acpi=off without any luck.

Any help would be appreciated.

--
    Robby

The problem is most probably related to the kernel configuration , since in the default one there is no problem , how did you configure your custom 2.6.22.6 kernel . the best way it's to copy the Slack huge (avoiding entering in initrd for the generic one ) configuration to the kernel source under the name .config .

Regards.
    Linux is not only an operating system, it's a philosophy.
    Archost.

Just Joined!