Find the answer to your Linux question:
like i said b4 im new to slackware and i have 2 issues remaining. 1: for some reason i cant get my usb hard drive to change permissions. i added ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

2 issues for new slackware user

like i said b4 im new to slackware and i have 2 issues remaining.

1: for some reason i cant get my usb hard drive to change permissions. i added my second user to the root group and all other groups. its mounted as /dev/sdk1 under /media/disk/ that is wher the 300gb maxtor usb hard drive is. it does auto mount and everything so i got all that configured but the permissions are like drwxr-xr-x and i i need write permission because i save fines there.

2: for some reason i cant run installpkg or any pkgtools under my secondary user account. i have to do su or use the root konsole in kde to install packages or remove or do anything with them.

oz
    forum.guy
    Regarding #2... that's correct. Your installpkg and pkgtool commands seem to be working properly. You must have root permissions to install software under Slackware, but it's that way with most all Linux distributions.
    oz

Quote Originally Posted by jza873 View Post
    1: for some reason i cant get my usb hard drive to change permissions.
    This usb drive is formatted with ntfs or fat32? As far as my experience has gone, I believe NTFS and Fat32 do not support Linux style permissions. I ran into this problem last week. We needed to play through XMMS, songs that were on an NTFS external USB drive. The box had NTFS read/write support, yet we could not play those files as regualr user, only root. While on the USB drive, I tried several times to change the owner from root to user. Didn't work. I finally had to copy them over to Linux's ext3 partition so I could then change permissions, user and group ownership.