Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 5 of 5
ok i am new to this forum and new to linux... aka newb extreme. Im trying to get windows and linux to run on the same machine, they are on ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    2

    Linux and Windows in lilo


    ok i am new to this forum and new to linux... aka newb extreme.
    Im trying to get windows and linux to run on the same machine, they are on their own hdds, the windows on a 160gb ata and the linux on a 250gb sata, now i tried installing it with liloconfig and then using /sbin/lilo as ive seen on a thread on the forum but it aint working? it gives me one warning: LBA32 addressing assumed... can any1 please help this poor newb? tanx

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer RobinVossen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,429
    How does ur Lilo look now? the conf file
    New Users, please read this..
    Google first, then ask..

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    16
    Hi, not sure if this helps but look at the entry I have for windows in this config file. Do you have a similar entry? Is LiLo installed in your mbr?

    # Slackware 12.0
    # LiLo Configuration file
    # Generated by 'liloconfig'

    # Start LILO global section

    boot = /dev/hdi3
    root = /dev/hdi3
    # compact ### faster, but won't work on all systems ###
    prompt
    # timeout = 300

    # VESA framebuffer console @ 1024x768x32k
    vga = 790
    # VESA framebuffer console @ 1024x768x256
    # vga=773
    # VESA framebuffer console @ 800x600x32k
    # vga=787
    # VESA framebuffer console @ 800x600x256
    # vga=771

    # ramdisk = 0 ### paranoia setting ###

    # End LILO global section

    # Boot Logo.1

    map = /boot/map-bmp
    install=/boot/boot-bmp.b
    bitmap = /boot/slacklilo.bmp
    bmp-colors = 15,,0:5,,15
    bmp-table = 59,5,1,18,
    bmp-timer= 66,28,6,8,0

    # Linux bootable partition config. begins

    image = /boot/vmlinuzold
    label = Slackware1
    read-only

    image = /boot/vmlinuznew
    label = Slackware2
    read-only

    # Linux bootable partition config. ends

    # Windows bootable partition config. begins

    other = /dev/hdi1
    label = Win2000
    # map-drive = 0x80
    # to = 0x81
    # map-drive = 0x81
    # to = 0x80
    table = /dev/hdi

    # Windows bootable partition config. ends

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Engineer RobinVossen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,429
    Lilo is in ur mbr indeed.
    I see you'll have two kernels.
    Slackware 1 as old and Slackware 2 as new

    And do you really have SO much drives in ur pc?
    Since hdi... I guess thats your problem..
    That will say you'll have 10 drives in ur system..
    New Users, please read this..
    Google first, then ask..

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    2

    working

    ok i got it to work i dont understand why but its working, i redid the whole lilo config thing again and trhen i checked cfdisk and saw windows was bootable but linux was not, then i made linux bootable and there i go all works perfect? i didnt read this in any of the online help stuff, maybe im to newb for linux :P
    thanx for trying to help guys.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •