Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3
Results 21 to 27 of 27
then when I restart it, it says "you dont hve gdm, kdm, kdm installed. you can't run runlevel 4 without those installed" So what do i do now?...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #21
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    22

    then when I restart it, it says "you dont hve gdm, kdm, kdm installed. you can't run runlevel 4 without those installed"

    So what do i do now?

  2. #22
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    Those are the display managers for Gnome and KDE, so it appears that you haven't installed a complete desktop environment yet. Slackware no longer comes with Gnome, so it looks like you still need to install KDE, or at least KDM.
    oz

  3. #23
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    22
    hey ozar, how can I install kdm (kde)?

  4. #24
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    KDE has lots of packages, so it would probably be best at this point to start from scratch and install Slackware again, this time being sure to install KDE during the installation.

    Otherwise, you could probably insert the first disk again, reboot, and then work your way to system setup and try to install KDE from the software installation options available.

    The screen should look something like this:

    The setup Program

    Maybe someone else can offer up a better way of getting KDE onto your machine.
    oz

  5. #25
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    22
    hey ozar, can you send me a link to the page where I can get the dvd.iso image of slackware?

    Thnx

  6. #26
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    It's on the link you posted above where you got the CD images from.
    oz

  7. #27
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    22
    thnx a lot ozar for all your help, btw how can I figure out the domain name for the network?

    Thnx again!

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •