Find the answer to your Linux question:
I am a beginner and i have complete installation of slackware 11.0.i have mysql 5.0 as specified in the /var/log/packages as i could percieve . when i enter the shell ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

How to use MySQL in slackware

I am a beginner and i have complete installation of slackware 11.0.i have mysql 5.0 as specified in the /var/log/packages as i could percieve .
    when i enter the shell and type $ mysql
    the error i am getting is
    Can't connect to local MySQL server through socket '/var/run/mysql/mysql.sock' (2)
    . please give full commands as i am complete noob

Just Joined!
    i got this in one of the post but could not understand it The socket file needs to be created by the database server so when other applications open it, such as the mysql client, they end up talking to the server. You can try and run the mysql database as root (not a terribly good idea most of the time, but might demonstrate the fix). The best way to fix this is to create a mysql user to run the database server as and allow that user access to the /var/run/mysql directory.

If that doesn't work look for the "socket" line in my.cnf, the mysql configuration file. Update it to point to a location you can write to.

Linux Guru
    I see it's been a few days since your post so you may have a solution by now. If not try this. Open a konsole(terminal), login as root and type: mysql_install_db.
    Again, as root type: chown -R mysql.mysql /var/lib/mysql.
    Also, as root type: /usr/bin/mysqld_safe --user=mysql &
    Open a 2nd terminal and log in as root and type: ps -e | grep my
    You should see some results if mysql is running.
    At the root prompt type: mysql -u root and if you get the mysql prompt(mysql>) you are good.
    You need to set a root passwd, so at the prompt (not mysql>) but root type:mysql -u root mysql and you should get the mysql> prompt. If so, type: