Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hey there, First off id just like to quickly introduce myself, ill keep it brief, im a student from NZ, i have limited experience with Linux, the only Linux distro ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

RE: ATi Radeon PCI-E card and slackware

Hey there,

First off id just like to quickly introduce myself, ill keep it brief, im a student from NZ, i have limited experience with Linux, the only Linux distro ive used so far is Ubuntu 7.10, and i'd like to learn more about linux, I've read here and there that slack is an excellent way to gain a deeper understanding of Linux through more of a practical learning experience, so i'm currently downloading slackware v.12.

I'd just like to get some feedback about the hardware support that slackware offer's for ATi Radeon cards(particularly the HD2600 XT PCI-E series) as i found with Ubuntu that it was a bit difficult to get the most out of this card. The gui(gnome) worked fine, but i was going for the direct rendering effects that the fglrx driver provides, but like i said i had difficulty with.

But as long as i can use a DE either being KDE or gnome with slack i'd be more than happy, as im using the bash shell more often than not anyhow, although I still like to have a GUI to give me a little feeling of false security as it were, I dont think i'd feel totally confident running an OS completely by way of CLI yet.

So if anyone can just let me know about their experience with the slackware distro and the Hardware support of ATi, your personal opinion's are much appreciated.

Regards, KJ

oz
    forum.guy
    Welcome to the forums, KJ!