Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 55
Here is the directory listing the commands produced: amo/ Maple11/ epsonR340Vista64Drivers.exe* Cindy\ Lauper\ -\ I\ Drove\ All\ Night.mp3* Moebius6/ hplip-2.8.4.run* Form1.Designer.cs* Rover/ lgs501.exe* Form1.cs* VisualStudio2008TrainingKit.exe* netstumblerinstaller_0_4_0.exe* Form1.resx* WMPInfo.xml* pink\ floyd\ ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    76

    Exclamation It works - sort of


    Here is the directory listing the commands produced:

    amo/ Maple11/ epsonR340Vista64Drivers.exe*
    Cindy\ Lauper\ -\ I\ Drove\ All\ Night.mp3* Moebius6/ hplip-2.8.4.run*
    Form1.Designer.cs* Rover/ lgs501.exe*
    Form1.cs* VisualStudio2008TrainingKit.exe* netstumblerinstaller_0_4_0.exe*
    Form1.resx* WMPInfo.xml* pink\ floyd\ for\ peter/
    InstallShield\ Premier\ &\ Express\ Edition/ csharp\ language\ specification.doc* vs2008/
    KugelBlitz/ epsonEasyPrintUtilityVista.exe*
    root@SlackBox:~#


    I still have the same problem in the GUI though. No permission.

    A security policy in place prevents this sender from sending this message to this recipient, see message bus configuration file (rejected message had interface "org.freedesktop.Hal.Device.Volume" member "Mount" error name "(unset)" destination "org.freedesktop.Hal")

    Hope this is more helpful...

    Peter

  2. #12
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Add root and/or regular user(s) in plugdev group.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #13
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    76

    Forgive me...

    Forgive me for asking what is obvious to you but how do I go about the procedure. I have never even heard of the "plugdev group".

    Peter

  4. #14
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    76

    Angry Aaaacckkk!!!

    It does it with all removeable media, like CDs and DVDs.

    Peter

  5. #15
    Linux Guru Jonathan183's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    3,043
    Quote Originally Posted by pfeigl View Post
    Forgive me for asking what is obvious to you but how do I go about the procedure. I have never even heard of the "plugdev group".
    You should be able to check which groups exist using
    Code:
    groups
    then assuming you have a group plugdev you should be able to use
    Code:
    gpasswd -a user_name_to_add plugdev

  6. #16
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    76

    No further.

    There is no "plugdev" group.

    Peter

  7. #17
    Linux Engineer Freston's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,049
    Weird
    I'm installing Slackware 12 on a box right now and I have the exact same problem. I couldn't remember anything like it from the past. But I'll work on a solution
    Can't tell an OS by it's GUI

  8. #18
    Linux Engineer Freston's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,049
    Solved:

    You need an entry in fstab. HAL refuses to automount anything it is not used to or told about in advance. There will probably be a HAL setting to turn this off as other distro's are less stringent. Anyway, the way to solve this is such:


    Fire up your favorite editor. Open a file known as /etc/fstab
    This is the place where is defined who may mount what and where.

    Add this line to the bottom of the file:
    Code:
    /dev/sdf1       /mnt/hd         auto    noauto,user 0 0
    Where /dev/sdf1 is the device you want to mount. This may vary.
    And /mnt/hd is the arbitrary place where you want the device mounted. As long as the directory exists you can mout your device there. If you prefer /mnt/usbstick, just mkdir /mnt/usbstick and point fstab towards that.
    Can't tell an OS by it's GUI

  9. #19
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    76

    Thumbs up Thank you!

    Thanks for the solution. I will try it tonight. I'm studying for a math exam right now....

    Peter

  10. #20
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    76

    Exclamation Any more ideas?

    I tried your suggestion and some variations with no luck. I can read the CDROM but not the HDD or the USB. And how do I create a plugdev group? I don't have one:

    root bin daemon sys adm disk wheel floppy

    Peter

Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •