Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 55
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #31
    Linux Guru Jonathan183's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    3,089

    OK Peter from your posts I guess you are able to boot from the internal hard. Which HDD are you talking about not being able to access ... and can you post the output of fdisk -l with the external drive connected.

    Ed: by the way I think there is a typo in the fstab posted as it has swap on hda5 rather than sda5.

  2. #32
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    76

    FDISK Output

    You have seen my fdisk output. I have never had and do not now have an external HDD. It's the system disk I want into.

    Peter

  3. #33
    Linux Guru Jonathan183's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    3,089
    Quote Originally Posted by pfeigl View Post
    You have seen my fdisk output. I have never had and do not now have an external HDD. It's the system disk I want into.

    Peter
    Sorry Peter ... I must have lost the plot somewhere ... as root if you ls / do you get anything listed?

    Ed: I think you only need defaults rather than defaults,users in the root partition line of fstab.
    Just had a quick look through a couple of fstabs for different distros and can't find any with defaults,users for root. Users being able to unmount and mount root makes no sense to me ... are you sure this is not the cause of your current problems?

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #34
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    76

    Smile Forgiven

    You are forgiven, after all I would estimate the time to be ca. 02:00h around now!

    Code:
    root@SlackBox:/etc# cd /
    root@SlackBox:/# ls
    bin/  boot/  dev/  etc/  home/  lib/  lost+found/  media/  mnt/  opt/  proc/  root/  sbin/  srv/  sys/  tmp/  usr/  var/
    root@SlackBox:/#
    That is what I want in the GUI.

    Peter

  6. #35
    Linux Guru Jonathan183's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    3,089
    Local time only 1:00 here ! anyway ... it looks like the drive is mounted to me. Check the output of
    Code:
    mount
    & see if it reports /dev/sda1.

    If mount reports it is not mounted ... I'd really try removing the ,users bit from the root entry in fstab.

    If mount reports /dev/sda1 as mounted I assume you have a regular user which you are using in the GUI then try as root
    Code:
    ls /home
    assuming your regular user home folder is listed then make sure your regular user is the owner
    You can always set it with
    Code:
    chown -R regular_user_name /home/regular_user_home_area_folder
    Is the hard drive shown in the GUI after this?

  7. #36
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    76

    Question I dunno?

    Looks mounted to me:


    Code:
    Mike:   "The Fourth Dimension is a shambles?"
    Bernie: "Nobody ever empties the ashtrays.  People are SO
            inconsiderate."
                    -- Gary Trudeau, "Doonesbury"
    
    root@SlackBox:~# mount
    /dev/sda1 on / type ext3 (rw)
    proc on /proc type proc (rw)
    sysfs on /sys type sysfs (rw)
    usbfs on /proc/bus/usb type usbfs (rw)
    /dev/sdf1 on /root/usb type vfat (rw,umask=0)
    /dev/sdg1 on /mnt/usbdev type vfat (rw)
    root@SlackBox:~# ls /home
    ftp/  pfeigl/
    root@SlackBox:~# chown -R pfeigl/home/
    chown: missing operand after `pfeigl/home/'
    Try `chown --help' for more information.
    root@SlackBox:~# cd pfeigl
    -su: cd: pfeigl: No such file or directory
    root@SlackBox:~# cd /home
    root@SlackBox:/home# ls
    ftp/  pfeigl/
    root@SlackBox:/home# cd pfeigl
    root@SlackBox:/home/pfeigl# ls
    Desktop/
    root@SlackBox:/home/pfeigl# chown -R pfeigl/home/Desktop
    chown: missing operand after `pfeigl/home/Desktop'
    Try `chown --help' for more information.
    root@SlackBox:/home/pfeigl#
    Peter

  8. #37
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    76
    The drive is shown, but it says it is empty and looks empty when you click on it.

    Peter

  9. #38
    Linux Guru Jonathan183's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    3,089
    Can you post the output of
    Code:
    cat /etc/passwd

  10. #39
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    76

    Post /etc/passwd output

    OK here it is...

    Code:
    root@SlackBox:/home/pfeigl# cdd /
    -su: cdd: command not found
    root@SlackBox:/home/pfeigl# cd /
    root@SlackBox:/# cat /etc/passwd
    root:x:0:0::/root:/bin/bash
    bin:x:1:1:bin:/bin:/bin/false
    daemon:x:2:2:daemon:/sbin:/bin/false
    adm:x:3:4:adm:/var/log:/bin/false
    lp:x:4:7:lp:/var/spool/lpd:/bin/false
    sync:x:5:0:sync:/sbin:/bin/sync
    shutdown:x:6:0:shutdown:/sbin:/sbin/shutdown
    halt:x:7:0:halt:/sbin:/sbin/halt
    mail:x:8:12:mail:/:/bin/false
    news:x:9:13:news:/usr/lib/news:/bin/false
    uucp:x:10:14:uucp:/var/spool/uucppublic:/bin/false
    operator:x:11:0:operator:/root:/bin/bash
    games:x:12:100:games:/usr/games:/bin/false
    ftp:x:14:50::/home/ftp:/bin/false
    smmsp:x:25:25:smmsp:/var/spool/clientmqueue:/bin/false
    mysql:x:27:27:MySQL:/var/lib/mysql:/bin/bash
    rpc:x:32:32:RPC portmap user:/:/bin/false
    sshd:x:33:33:sshd:/:/bin/false
    gdm:x:42:42:GDM:/var/state/gdm:/bin/bash
    apache:x:80:80:User for Apache:/srv/httpd:/bin/false
    messagebus:x:81:81:User for D-BUS:/var/run/dbus:/bin/false
    haldaemon:x:82:82:User for HAL:/var/run/hald:/bin/false
    pop:x:90:90:POP:/:/bin/false
    nobody:x:99:99:nobody:/:/bin/false
    pfeigl:x:1000:100:Peter Feigl,,,:/home/pfeigl:/bin/bash
    root@SlackBox:/#
    Does it help?

    Peter

  11. #40
    Linux Guru Jonathan183's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    3,089
    OK this confirms your user name and home area ...
    Code:
    pfeigl:x:1000:100:Peter Feigl,,,:/home/pfeigl:/bin/bash
    Your regular user name is pfeigl and the home area is /home/pfeigl which is what I was expecting ... but it does not hurt to check.
    For example you can see from the same entry in my file
    Code:
    jonathan:x:1000:1000:jonathan,,,:/home/Mint/jonathan:/bin/bash
    my home area is not in the default location.

    Lets make sure you own your home area with the following - again run with root rights ....
    Code:
    cd /home
    chown -R pfeigl pfeigl
    now double check it worked by using
    Code:
    ls -l
    and post the output here.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •