Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello everyone, i'm very new to Linux and decided to use it to try and get away from Windows. I have a few real easy questions: How do I shut ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Red face Hello - Newbie here, few very simple questions

Hello everyone, i'm very new to Linux and decided to use it to try and get away from Windows.

I have a few real easy questions:

1. How do I shut down the computer? I go to log out in KDE and it brings me back to the shell prompt.
    2. When trying to connect to the internet, my connection box freezes when trying to access the modem (Speedtouch 330) although it is installed.
    3. How do I run and install applications that i've downloaded for the linux format? Kind of like whats the .exe file but in linux terms

Thanks guys, much appreciated

Just Joined!
    To shutdown, you run:
    Code:
    shutdown -h now
    as root.

and runing an app in linux format is just like running one in windows, just double click it. if that doesn't work try going into the terminal and runing
    Code:
    ./the-application-name
    if it's a package for slackware you can also use
    Code:
    pkgtool

Hi johnyelland1234 and welcome to the forums!

Quote Originally Posted by johnyelland1234 View Post
    How do I shut down the computer? I go to log out in KDE and it brings me back to the shell prompt.
    The most expedient way to shutdown from there is to run:
    Code:
    shutdown -h now
    Did you create a regular user account? If not, and your Internet is not functional, "sign in" to KDE as root. From the command line, run:
    Code:
    kuser
    ...which is also in your menu and create an account for yourself as a regular user. Sign back out to the command prompt and (as root) do:
    Code:
    kdm