Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hey there! I'm new to linux too and ive been trying to install slackware on my old IBM 300GL for the last few days, in vain. When I get to ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Install Slackware

Hey there!
    I'm new to linux too and ive been trying to install slackware on my old IBM 300GL for the last few days, in vain.

When I get to the part where i type 'root' and press enter, it says:
    waiting for /bin/sh something.

Anyone knows what's wrong?

oz
    forum.guy
    Welcome to the forums!

I'm not sure what might be wrong, but if you have the default 128 MB of RAM that comes with that machine, it might not be enough to run Slackware.

Did the installation routine itself seem to complete properly?

Any errors during the install?

Did you setup the root account during the installation?

...or are you saying the install never even got that far?

Check this online book to make certain you install Slackware properly:

Slackware Linux Essentials
    oz

Welcome to the forums!
    These are the minimal requirements so it should be able to do it
    Although more RAM would increase performance, specially if you intend to run KDE.

Quote Originally Posted by orusxiii
    When I get to the part where i type 'root' and press enter, it says:
    waiting for /bin/sh something.
    You mean all the way in the beginning of the install? That ain't right.

Did you check the DVD/CDROM?? It sounds like a bad burn if you ask me. Can you do a md5sum on it? If not, I think a fresh download and burn is in order, at slow speed and perform a check on it afterwards. Most burning tools have this option, probably called 'verify burn' or something.
    Can't tell an OS by it's GUI

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    oz
    forum.guy