Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
Having trouble with sound on my laptop. I get this when I try to test sound. Sound server informational message: Error while initializing the sound driver: device /dev/dsp can't be ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Engineer adrenaline's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Seattle, Washington
    Posts
    1,058

    Sound on laptops


    Having trouble with sound on my laptop.
    I get this when I try to test sound.

    Sound server informational message:
    Error while initializing the sound driver:
    device /dev/dsp can't be opened (Device or resource busy)
    The sound server will continue, using the null output device.

    BTW using Alsa drivers if this helps

    Any Ideas?
    Thanks Mike

  2. #2
    Linux Guru sarumont's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    /dev/urandom
    Posts
    3,682
    What type of sound card do you have? What kernel and distro are you running? What is the output of lsmod?
    "Time is an illusion. Lunchtime, doubly so."
    ~Douglas Adams, The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy

  3. #3
    Linux Engineer adrenaline's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Seattle, Washington
    Posts
    1,058
    Here is my lsmod,
    My kernel is the standard bari 2.4 that comes with the install of slackware 10
    Sorry about that i wasn't really sure what info was needed.
    Thanks,
    Mike


    Module Size Used by Not tainted
    snd-pcm-oss 37736 0 (unused)
    snd-mixer-oss 12504 0 [snd-pcm-oss]
    keybdev 2052 0 (unused)
    mousedev 4212 1
    hid 21220 0 (unused)
    usbmouse 2040 0 (unused)
    input 3200 0 [keybdev mousedev hid usbmouse]
    uhci 24444 0 (unused)
    usbcore 59308 1 [hid usbmouse uhci]
    snd-intel8x0 18924 1
    gameport 1420 0 [snd-intel8x0]
    snd-mpu401-uart 3200 0 [snd-intel8x0]
    snd-rawmidi 12740 0 [snd-mpu401-uart]
    snd-seq-device 3888 0 [snd-rawmidi]
    snd-intel8x0m 9544 2
    snd-pcm 56072 0 [snd-pcm-oss snd-intel8x0 snd-intel8x0m]
    snd-timer 13604 0 [snd-pcm]
    snd-page-alloc 6328 0 [snd-intel8x0 snd-intel8x0m snd-pcm]
    snd-ac97-codec 49500 0 [snd-intel8x0 snd-intel8x0m]
    snd 30852 3 [snd-pcm-oss snd-mixer-oss snd-intel8x0 snd-mpu401-uart snd-rawmidi snd-seq-device snd-intel8x0m snd-pcm snd-timer snd-ac97-codec]
    soundcore 3396 7 [snd]
    ohci1394 24112 0 (unused)
    ieee1394 42276 0 [ohci1394]
    eepro100 19252 0
    mii 2272 0 [eepro100]
    orinoco_cs 4244 1
    orinoco 33076 0 [orinoco_cs]
    hermes 5668 0 [orinoco_cs orinoco]
    ds 6548 4 [orinoco_cs]
    yenta_socket 10336 2
    pcmcia_core 39972 0 [orinoco_cs ds yenta_socket]
    ide-scsi 9328 0
    agpgart 43940 0 (unused)

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Kuala Lumpur, MALAYSIA
    Posts
    8
    I believe you have an softlink AMR internal modem.
    You need to disable the modem by:
    chmod -x /etc/rc.d/rc.hotplug

    by doing so, you might have some other device not detected. or you bypass the modem detection by blacklist it in hotplug.

    I think the simplest way is to modprobe slamr.
    You need to install slmodem-2.9.9 to load the device.
    You can get slmodem at http://linmodems.technion.ac.il/packages/smartlink/

    Hope this help

  5. #5
    Linux Engineer adrenaline's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Seattle, Washington
    Posts
    1,058
    I did the chmod thing it didn't make any difference but just out of curiosity what would the modem have to do with the sound card?
    Did you see something in the lsmod and if you what was it?
    Thanks,
    Mike

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Kuala Lumpur, MALAYSIA
    Posts
    8
    snd-ac97-codec 49500 0 [snd-intel8x0 snd-intel8x0m]

    I think you have Agere AC'97 modem installed in your laptop.

    I also experienced the same problem.

    You can also read this for detailed explainations.
    http://jmccoy.sdf-us.org/slackware10/

    good luck.

  7. #7
    Linux Engineer adrenaline's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Seattle, Washington
    Posts
    1,058
    I have music yea. thanks alot. Great job!
    Now if you are so inclined.
    I have a DVD player and burner on my laptop of course they don't work.
    Now I have been told that I have to link the cdrom to the scsi drive.
    Can you walk me through that?
    Thanks again,
    Mike

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •