Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
I have installed slackware 10.0, and after first 'hard' reset after my system hanged up i keep reciving error messages when my system starts: kmod: failed to exec /sbin/modprobe -s ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    4

    Error messages when my slackware 10.0 starts


    I have installed slackware 10.0, and after first 'hard' reset after my
    system hanged
    up i keep reciving error messages when my system starts:

    kmod: failed to exec /sbin/modprobe -s -k scsi_hostadapter, errno = 2
    kmod: failed to exec /sbin/modprobe -s -k scsi_hostadapter, errno = 2
    kmod: failed to exec /sbin/modprobe -s -k scsi_hostadapter, errno = 2
    (...)
    FAT: bogus logical sector size 0
    UMSDOS: msdos_read_super failed, mount aborted.
    FAT: bogus logical sector size 0
    FAT: bogus logical sector size 0

    Could anyone help me with this problem, or advise some links to such problem
    solving description ?
    I would be very grateful


    Btw I use reiserfs, and my fstab is probably not a cause and looks like :
    /dev/hdc2 swap swap defaults 0 0
    /dev/hdc1 / reiserfs defaults 1 1
    /dev/hda1 /mnt/windows vfat defaults 1 0
    /dev/cdrom /mnt/cdrom iso9660 noauto,owner,ro 0 0
    /dev/fd0 /mnt/floppy auto noauto,owner 0 0
    devpts /dev/pts devpts gid=5,mode=620 0 0
    proc /proc proc defaults 0 0

    Greetings,

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Farnborough, UK
    Posts
    1,305
    I get the same problem. But it doesn't seem to affect anything so I wouldn't worry too much about it.
    Lansbury's Lido

    thekiadriver on #linuxforums - fleetingly

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    4
    Yes.. it doesn't.. but there must be some way to correct this problem.. besides reinstalation. I was thinking if fsck could help but as linux newb every option is hard for me to execute, and fsck generate error message when i try to use it '/dev/hdc1/ is mounted with write permissions, cannot check it.'( so I dont know how to use it) Do you think fsck could help ? Or any new ideas ?

  4. #4
    Linux Guru sarumont's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    /dev/urandom
    Posts
    3,682
    With fsck, the easiest way to do it is to boot a Gentoo LiveCD and run it from there. You can't really unmount and remount filesystems that you're currently using, so booting from CD gives you a root command prompt to execute these checks from without any hassle.
    "Time is an illusion. Lunchtime, doubly so."
    ~Douglas Adams, The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    4
    I scaned my /dev/hdc1 with fsck ant it didn't help It just corrected some file size.

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    4
    Thanks all. To correct these error just need to recompile kernel without umsdos and scsi_ modules.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •