Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
I'm very new to operating in linux. I've d/l and installed slackware 12.1 and not sure where to go. I've been up and down the forums here and the help ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    6

    can't enable network interface


    I'm very new to operating in linux. I've d/l and installed slackware 12.1 and not sure where to go. I've been up and down the forums here and the help file on slackware isn't so helpful. thought I had it figured out only to come up with something else.

    ie: Could nnot parse the XML output from the network configuration backend.

    What to do?
    Any help at all would be appreciated.

    Tim

    After looking. I found a couple things that might help out.


    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:08:74:e8:4f:17
    BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
    Interrupt:11 Base address:0x8c00

    eth1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:0b:db:1f:83:06
    BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
    Interrupt:11 Base address:0x6800

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:16 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:16 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:1032 (1.0 KiB) TX bytes:1032 (1.0 KiB)

    wlan0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:18:f8:38:0a:c9
    BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

    wmaster0 Link encap:UNSPEC HWaddr 00-18-F8-38-0A-C9-6C-6F-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00
    BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer Freston's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,049
    Hi and welcome to the forums!

    You realize that Slackware is a very powerful, reliable,fast and flexible operating system, but amongst it's merits it doesn't count easy graphical configuration tools. It has a steep learning curve.

    That's not to say you shouldn't use it. I wouldn't even call Slackware particularly difficult, rather maybe it's an acquired taste

    Anyway, enough of that. Your interfaces? Try:
    Code:
    ifconfig eth0 up
    dhcpcd eth0     # if you use DHCP
    For your wireless:
    Code:
    ifconfig wlan0 up
    iwconfig wlan0 essid YOUR_ESSID
    dhcpcd wlan0
    Where YOUR_ESSID if the name of your wireless network.

    Obviously all these things can be automated, but first see if they work manually
    Can't tell an OS by it's GUI

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    6

    Thanks the help.

    well... at least now it doesn't give me the XML statement, but still doesn't come up online.

    ifconfig wlan0 up gives me
    SIOCSIFFLAGS: No such file or directory

    I've tried with a static IP and with DHCP. No luck.
    Tim

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Engineer Freston's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,049
    Oh. Not good.

    What kind of wireless card do you have?
    You can probably find it with:
    Code:
    /sbin/lspci|grep -i wireless
    And if that doesn't work
    Code:
    /sbin/lspci
    Can't tell an OS by it's GUI

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    6

    wireless card

    Its the linksys WPC54G wirless card. I just got off 24 hour shift I'll give that a shot when I wake up. thanks for helping out.
    Tim

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    6

    ahh. shows

    03:00.0 Network Congroller: Broadcom Corporation BCM4318 [AirForce One 54g] 802.11g Wireless LAN Controller (rev 02)

    not sure if this is important, it says My platfor isn't supported and asks which one i want to use. Ark, Black panther conectiva, debian, fedora, freebsd, gentoo, mandriva, PLD slackware redhat suse, kubuntu vine or yoper.
    Last edited by super_nub; 11-21-2008 at 01:49 AM. Reason: just a thought

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    6

    Just went through...

    Showed a connection on eth 0 when i used fawnty so i selected that and X'd don't ask again, now it shows none of the network connectors. guess i should have waited to find out what to do next, OOPS...

  9. #8
    Linux Engineer Freston's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,049
    Quote Originally Posted by super_nub
    Showed a connection on eth 0 when i used fawnty so i selected that and X'd don't ask again, now it shows none of the network connectors. guess i should have waited to find out what to do next, OOPS...
    Yeah you should have

    You'll probably will want to try ndiswrapper for your wireless card to get the Redmond driver to work.

    Try this: Alien's Slackware ndiswrapper howto. And feel free to ask questions if you run into any trouble Good luck!
    Can't tell an OS by it's GUI

  10. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    6
    thats strange, I still dont have an internet connection... I've no reason to work on the wireless card. Its there more so i dont lose it. the screen is broke on the laptop so it doesn't move. lol.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •