Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
Sup guys, on my family PC, I'd like to install Slackware but there are to many people who use it and have no clue on how to use lilo. -_- ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    11

    Setting Windows as Default


    Sup guys, on my family PC, I'd like to install Slackware but there are to many people who use it and have no clue on how to use lilo. -_-

    Is there a way I can have windows and slackware dual booted and then have windows as default?

    -Lockdown

  2. #2
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    Welcome to the forums!

    You can edit /etc/lilo.conf and make windows the default. Just change the default line:

    instead of this:

    Code:
    default=linux
    change it to something like this:

    Code:
    default=windows
    (it needs to be the same as the label on your windows entry)

    You'll need root permissions to edit that file, so go to a command line, su to root, then run:

    Code:
    nano /etc/lilo.conf
    edit file, save file, run lilo (while still as root), then reboot
    oz

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    11
    How do I change it as default on windows? Also when there both default how will I boot up slackware?

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    You won't have both as default... you'll need to edit out "linux" and insert "windows" on the default line.

    If you can copy/paste your lilo.conf file here, it will be easier for someone to help.
    oz

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    11
    Alright, I will in a sec when I boot it up, but how will I boot slack?

  7. #6
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    LILO gives a menu at boot time, and you'll choose between Windows and Linux, but if you don't make a choice, then Windows will go ahead and boot by default.
    oz

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    11
    After a certain amount of seconds?

  9. #8
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    Yes, you can change the number of seconds.
    oz

  10. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    11
    Alright, almost done downloading... Will set it to like 2 secs.

  11. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    11
    Alright, heres my /etc/lilo.conf

    Code:
    # LILO configuration file
    # generated by 'liloconfig'
    #
    # Start LILO global section
    # Append any additional kernel parameters:
    append=" vt.default_utf8=0"
    boot = /dev/sda
    
    # Boot BMP Image.
    # Bitmap in BMP format: 640x480x8
      bitmap = /boot/slack.bmp
    # Menu colors (foreground, background, shadow, highlighted
    # foreground, highlighted background, highlighted shadow):
      bmp-colors = 255,0,255,0,255,0
    # Location of the option table: location x, location y, number of
    # columns, lines per column (max 15), "spill" (this is how many
    # entries must be in the first column before the next begins to
    # be used.  We don't specify it here, as there's just one column.
      bmp-table = 60,6,1,16
    # Timer location x, timer location y, foreground color,
    # background color, shadow color.
      bmp-timer = 65,27,0,255
    
    # Standard menu.
    # Or, you can comment out the bitmap menu above and 
    # use a boot message with the standard menu:
    #message = /boot/boot_message.txt
    
    # Wait until the timeout to boot (if commented out, boot the
    # first entry immediately):
    prompt
    # Timeout before the first entry boots.
    # This is given in tenths of a second, so 600 for every minute:
    timeout = 1200
    # Override dangerous defaults that rewrite the partition table:
    change-rules
      reset
    # VESA framebuffer console @ 1024x768x256
    vga = 773
    # Normal VGA console
    # vga = normal
    # VESA framebuffer console @ 1024x768x64k
    # vga=791
    # VESA framebuffer console @ 1024x768x32k
    # vga=790
    # VESA framebuffer console @ 1024x768x256
    # vga=773
    # VESA framebuffer console @ 800x600x64k
    # vga=788
    # VESA framebuffer console @ 800x600x32k
    # vga=787
    # VESA framebuffer console @ 800x600x256
    # vga=771
    # VESA framebuffer console @ 640x480x64k
    # vga=785
    # VESA framebuffer console @ 640x480x32k
    # vga=784
    # VESA framebuffer console @ 640x480x256
    # vga=769
    # End LILO global section
    # Windows bootable partition config begins
    other = /dev/sda1
      label = Windows
      table = /dev/sda
    # Windows bootable partition config ends
    # Linux bootable partition config begins
    image = /boot/vmlinuz
      root = /dev/sda2
      label = Linux
      read-only
    # Linux bootable partition config ends

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •