Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hey all, I am new to these forums. I hope you don't mind me bargeing on in and asking a question but I need some help. I am novice to ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Virtual Machines

Hey all, I am new to these forums. I hope you don't mind me bargeing on in and asking a question but I need some help.

I am novice to linux I have been using it on and off for a couple of years now. Slackware has always been my distro of choice. My next computer that I will be building (Febuary or so ((tax time )) I want to run slackware as it's sole OS. But I do also enjoy windows XP and would like to have that as well. rather than run a dual boot I want to explore the possibilites of virtual machines.

I have used VMware player a couple of times and that is it. My question is what software out there (if any) can I run a seemless install on slackware 12.1 to achieve my goal of having a fully functional virtual machine with windows XP operating smoothley.

I know there is good software out there like sun VirtualBox. But from what I read it is a major headach getting it to run on slack. Also I have been here Slackware Package Browser: Search results
    and see that there may be some packages already configured to do this. But as I mentioned I am a novice and am not sure so that is why I am here. If anyone can answere my question I would appreciate it very much

Thanks,

Welcome to the forums!

Installing VirtualBox may seem like a major pain if I where to describe the process to you. But if you didn't know it was gonna be pain, then you wouldn't notice it

You can get slackpacks at linuxpackages. It's got two dependencies, both are available. And you have to run a couple of commands after installing all three packages.