Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
My graphic card is ASUS AH3650, but unfortunately official linux drivers dont exist. So which drivers do you recommend?...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    8

    [SOLVED] Which drivers for graphic card


    My graphic card is ASUS AH3650, but unfortunately official linux drivers dont exist.
    So which drivers do you recommend?

  2. #2
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    What chipset does it use?
    oz

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    8
    ATI Radeon HD 3650 Chipset (725MHz )

  4. #4
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    It looks like this is the official driver for it:

    ATI Catalyst™ 8.12 Proprietary Linux x86 Display Driver

    ...according to these release notes:

    https://a248.e.akamai.net/f/674/9206..._812_linux.pdf
    oz

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    8
    I've tried them, well i tried the option where it builds tgz for you.
    But none of those tzg's worked, when i started kde, i just got black screen.

    Should i try the normal installation? My concern is if it doesn't work its gonna be very difficult to clean after it.

  6. #6
    Just Joined! arkolyte's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Troutville, Virginia
    Posts
    14
    I'd try the normal installation. Provided, it didn't work on this computer, due to my X server not liking the drivers, but it has a chance of working. You might also want to try the open-source ATI drivers, located here. They won't give you all the functionality of the official drivers, but they will work for basic applications and games. I use my computer for gaming and rendering, so I needed the advanced features, but unless you do, these drivers should work just fine for you.
    Last edited by arkolyte; 12-11-2008 at 06:29 AM. Reason: Extra Info

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    8
    Thank you. Tried automatic normal mode and it worked

  8. #8
    Just Joined! arkolyte's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Troutville, Virginia
    Posts
    14
    Woot. Grats, glad you got it working.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •