Find the answer to your Linux question:
I recently made the switch to linux, running Slackware 12.1, and I've been pretty comfortable with it other than the wireless My comp is a Toshiba Satellite A215-S4757 and uses ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Laptop Wireless issues

I recently made the switch to linux, running Slackware 12.1, and I've been pretty comfortable with it other than the wireless
    My comp is a Toshiba Satellite A215-S4757 and uses Atheros AR242x 802.11abg

I've read that this chipset is supported by Madwifi, but after countless tries I got nothing.I also tried Ndiswrapper but again, nothing

Also, for some reason the wireless did work with Ubuntu Eee, but I would much prefer to get it running on Slackware

I'm a bit of newbie, as I am sure you can tell, so I am asking for any info or advice on how to get it running

I'm sorry if I have not posted enough info, I will try and find out more if need be

Linux Guru
    I have this wireless in my Eee Pc 900. It is now supported by the ath5k driver. This driver is in newer kernels, and nothing else needs to be installed.

I installed Fedora 10, and it worked out-of-the-box. I also use NetworkManager to connect to wireless networks. Here is the kernel version that I have:

2.6.27.7-134.fc10.i686

The driver can be installed as part of the Linux Wireless compat-wireless-2.6 package.

Download - Linux Wireless

If you must use the Madwifi driver, you will need to compile the Subversion version.

I understand that NetworkManager is not available for Slackware. That is a shame, as it makes connecting to wireless networks very easy. I would not use Slackware for wireless because of this. NetworkManager is available in Fedora, Suse and Ubuntu, and I'm sure others too.
    Please do not send Private Messages to me with requests for help. I will not reply.

Just Joined!
    Victory!