Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 20 of 20
I have installed Slackware 9.1 on my little cousin's (very) old machine and it worked The system : Proc : PentiumS 100MHz RAM : 16 MB HDD : 1.2 GB ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Romania, Bucharest
    Posts
    2

    I have installed Slackware 9.1 on my little cousin's (very) old machine and it worked
    The system :
    Proc : PentiumS 100MHz
    RAM : 16 MB
    HDD : 1.2 GB (it sounds like a truck ) )
    Video : 2MB PCI card
    Swap : 32MB

  2. #12
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    4
    I have Slack installed on a 486DX2/66 laptop with 8mb memory, and it is all but useless. No man pages, no compiler, no nothing. At least it has X with blackbox, which runs ok if all I do is open rxvt terms. Has to mount swap space over NFS, which makes it even more useless.

    I think it's funny that some of you are referring to Pentium-class laptops as "old." In my opinion, a Pentium 100 laptop with 32MB memory is still very useful. I guess I'm just used to using old hardware!

  3. #13
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Bucharest, Romania
    Posts
    7

    Razor blade

    I tried it on my Linux Enabled Razor Blade but it seems it hasn't any memory

  4. #14
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    5
    When it comes to linux, I have found that memory is a BIG key.

    I had a pII server with 128 Mb RAM, and it ran "ok".

    I have a laptop with 512 Mb Ram and it SOARS!

    CPU is important, but the more room you give it run the better it will work!

    Chirp

  5. #15
    Linux Engineer adrenaline's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Seattle, Washington
    Posts
    1,058
    I know it can be done, but what I was really wondering is can it be usefull.
    Or will it be so slow it isn't worth the time to install. It ran Mandrake 72 pretty good. Slack is so much faster I was kind of wondering if anyone is actually running slack 10 on an old machine like this one.

    I still haven't had time to install yet but I will probably get to it this weekend

  6. #16
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Rice Lake Wisconsin
    Posts
    1
    I have run Slackware 10 on a 200MHz P1MMX with I believe 48 megs or RAM.
    Runs like a champ, I use fluxbox but it takes like 60-90 seconds to load up but after it is up there is no problem.

    I only have one problem... I use an Kingston ISA NIC card on this box and it just doesnt want to work on Slack. Anyone here have any ideas on this issue?

  7. #17
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Finnlannd
    Posts
    1
    i have quite old Toshiba Satellite Pro laptop, 1,26gb harddisk, 48megs of ram and runs Slackware 10.0. has Xorg 6.8.1 & fluxbox Slackware rules

  8. #18
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Manchester
    Posts
    50
    I've installed slack10 on a Dell P3 128mb(kde), pretty usable for day to day stuff, compiling is a pain though !

    I've used the Live eval verion on PII 350 128 ram runs pretty well.

    I'd say ur laptop would be ok so long as you didn't used KDE or gnome !

  9. #19
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    39
    Slack 10.0 on a P1 133MHZ, 64MB RAM, HD 2GB; Onboard VGA. It's an old IBM PS/1.

    Yes... it works... kinda slow, but workable.

  10. #20
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Belgrade, S&M
    Posts
    177
    On a P II 233 Mhz, 64 MB ram Slackware 10 runs, works ok, not very fast but OK.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •