Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 18 of 18
As far as I know, and I am very new to this, the best way to set a gateway is with route.... so i propose that you try: Code: % ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    2

    Try route, maybe?


    As far as I know, and I am very new to this, the best way to set a gateway is with route.... so i propose that you try:

    Code:
    % su -
    % route add default gw {your gateway ip}
    either that or get an address using dhcp, which will automatically assign your gateway and DNS, incidentally, once you do have your gateway figured out, you wont get name resolution until you add DNS servers...

    Let me know how it goes,

    Chris

  2. #12
    Linux Engineer adrenaline's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Seattle, Washington
    Posts
    1,058
    What happens when you type

    Netconfig

    as root?

    Mike

  3. #13
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    35
    It runs netconfig, but thats what I don't understand, I configure it correctly, yet it still doesnt work! Someone suggested I move my NIC card to a different pci port, would this work?

  4. #14
    Linux Engineer adrenaline's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Seattle, Washington
    Posts
    1,058
    If it is a IRQ problem it could work.


    Does your computer see your nic card? When you run netconfig does it say you don't have a nic card and ask you to probe for one? what happens when you ping a qualified IP address?
    Try to

    ping 66.94.230.52

    run ifconfig as root and show me what it says.

  5. #15
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    35
    Code:
    lo
    Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:16 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:16 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:1312 (1.2 Kb) TX bytes:1312 (1.2 Kb)

  6. #16
    Linux Engineer adrenaline's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Seattle, Washington
    Posts
    1,058
    Your ethernet card isn't being seen. Being 9.1 and not having it in front of me I can't tell you much more. I have slack ten and I have a rc.inet1.conf file that I can configure then I reboot and as if by magic it works. I had the same problem as you did at first but when I ran netconfig it asked me if I wanted to probe my nic card I said yes and it found it and I then added the gateway to rc.inet1.conf rebooted and I was off to the races.

    Something else to try
    cd /etc/rc.d

    less rc.inet1.

    Go through this file closely and see if you can figure out what file it reads its net info from. If you can figure that out that would be the file to edit.
    also if you type lsmod it should tell you what your nic care is. If it is not there maybe your computer doesn't know you have one. Look to see if your nic card is supported with slackware.

  7. #17
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    35
    Quote Originally Posted by adrenaline
    Your ethernet card isn't being seen. Being 9.1 and not having it in front of me I can't tell you much more. I have slack ten and I have a rc.inet1.conf file that I can configure then I reboot and as if by magic it works. I had the same problem as you did at first but when I ran netconfig it asked me if I wanted to probe my nic card I said yes and it found it and I then added the gateway to rc.inet1.conf rebooted and I was off to the races.

    Something else to try
    cd /etc/rc.d

    less rc.inet1.

    Go through this file closely and see if you can figure out what file it reads its net info from. If you can figure that out that would be the file to edit.
    also if you type lsmod it should tell you what your nic care is. If it is not there maybe your computer doesn't know you have one. Look to see if your nic card is supported with slackware.
    well i probe with netconfig, and it finds an ethernet card, and installes the correct modual for it... im thinking of just going to a different distro

  8. #18
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    1
    i what to conect my netowork to internet via a server with linux Slackware 10.
    i have 2 network adapters. in eth0 i connect the wirless acess point and on eth1 it is connected to my swich
    to acces point i have ip 172.*.1.29 [eth0]
    to my network i have 10.1.10.x [eth1] - intenal netowrk ip
    and when i what to go on internet i route internal ip to 195.*.182.123;124

    can any one say me what is wrog here because i can't have internet on my netowrk. I'm a neewbie
    loged as root

    Code:
    pico /etc/rc.d/rc.local
    #!/bin/sh
    #
    # /etc/rc.d/rc.local:  Local system initialization script.
    #
    # Put any local setup commands in here:
    modprobe 8139too
    ifconfig eth0 172.*.1.29 netmask 255.255.255.0 up
    ifconfig eth1:0 195.*.182.123 netmask 255.255.255.255 up
    ifconfig eth1:1 195.*.182.124 netmask 255.255.255.255 up
    ifconfig eth1 10.1.10.1 netmask 255.255.255.0 up
    route add default gw 172.*.1.1
    route add -host 195.*.182.117 dev eth1
    iptables -t nat -F
    iptables -t nat -A POSTROUTING -s 172.16.1.29/32 -j SNAT --to-source 195.234.182.124
    #iptables -t nat -A POSTROUTING -s 10.1.10.0/24 -j SNAT --to-source 195.234.182.123-195.234.182.124
    iptables -t nat -A POSTROUTING -s 10.1.10.2/32 -j SNAT --to-source 195.234.182.123-195.234.182.124
    iptables -t nat -A POSTROUTING -s 10.1.10.3/32 -j SNAT --to-source 195.234.182.123-195.234.182.124
    #iptables -t nat -A POSTROUTING -s 10.1.10.4/32 -j SNAT --to-source 195.234.182.123-195.234.182.124
    #iptables -t nat -A POSTROUTING -s 10.1.10.5/32 -j SNAT --to-source 195.234.182.123-195.234.182.124
    iptables -t nat -A POSTROUTING -s 10.1.10.6/32 -j SNAT --to-source 195.234.182.123-195.234.182.124
    #iptables -t nat -A POSTROUTING -s 10.1.10.7/32 -j SNAT --to-source 195.234.182.123-195.234.182.124
    iptables -t nat -A POSTROUTING -s 10.1.10.8/32 -j SNAT --to-source 195.234.182.123-195.234.182.124
    iptables -t nat -A POSTROUTING -s 10.1.10.9/32 -j SNAT --to-source 195.234.182.123-195.234.182.124
    iptables -t nat -A POSTROUTING -s 10.1.10.10/32 -j SNAT --to-source 195.234.182.123-195.234.182.124
    iptables -t nat -A POSTROUTING -s 10.1.10.11/32 -j SNAT --to-source 195.234.182.123-195.234.182.124
    iptables -t nat -A POSTROUTING -s 10.1.10.12/32 -j SNAT --to-source 195.234.182.123-195.234.182.124
    iptables -t nat -A POSTROUTING -s 10.1.10.13/32 -j SNAT --to-source 195.234.182.123-195.234.182.124
    iptables -t nat -A POSTROUTING -s 10.1.10.14/32 -j SNAT --to-source 195.234.182.123-195.234.182.124
    iptables -t nat -A POSTROUTING -s 10.1.10.15/32 -j SNAT --to-source 195.234.182.123-195.234.182.124
    iptables -I FORWARD -i eth1 -o eth0 -p tcp --dport 445 -j DROP
    iptables -I FORWARD -i eth1 -o eth0 -p tcp --dport 135 -j DROP
    CTRL+x and save
    Code:
    pico /etc/resolv.conf
    #search xxxx.ro
    nameserver 193.*.236.17
    nameserver 192.*129.4.1
    nameserver 193.*.236.30
    CTRL+X and save
    Code:
    pico /etc/networks
    loopback 127.0.0.0
    localnet 127.0.0.0


    CAN any one help? pls guys.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •