Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
Hi, I have Slackware 12.2 running on a Compaq Presario F700 laptop. I am having problems configuring my sound card. I ran alsaconf , it detected and installed my sound ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    5

    Need help configuring sound card


    Hi,

    I have Slackware 12.2 running on a Compaq Presario F700 laptop.
    I am having problems configuring my sound card.
    I ran alsaconf , it detected and installed my sound card.... everything ok
    alsamixer -> unmuted everything
    but i still get mixer cannot be found when running Kmix
    alsa detected my sound card as being hda-intel

    Please help,
    Thank You

  2. #2
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    Hello and Welcome to the forums.
    Are you sure that you have installed kmix? You shouldn't need kmix if you have alsamixer installed, they both do the same thing.
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  3. #3
    Linux Engineer Freston's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,049
    Welcome to the forums!

    And what is your sound card?
    Code:
    /sbin/lspci|grep -i audio
    #or
    /sbin/lspci|grep -i sound
    Can't tell an OS by it's GUI

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    5
    # /sbin/lspci|grep -i audio
    00:07.0 Audio device: nVidia Corporation MCP67 High Definition Audio (rev a1)

    and here is my lsmod if it helps

    Module Size Used by
    snd_seq_dummy 6788 0
    snd_seq_oss 33408 0
    snd_seq_midi_event 10240 1 snd_seq_oss
    snd_seq 50928 5 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi_event
    snd_seq_device 10380 3 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq
    snd_pcm_oss 40480 0
    snd_mixer_oss 17920 1 snd_pcm_oss
    ipv6 241956 12
    pcmcia 36524 0
    pcmcia_core 35604 1 pcmcia
    lp 13572 0
    ppdev 11268 0
    parport_pc 28196 0
    parport 34796 3 lp,ppdev,parport_pc
    fuse 54684 7
    nvidia 7220952 28
    ath5k 101248 0
    mac80211 158108 1 ath5k
    ricoh_mmc 7808 0
    led_class 7684 1 ath5k
    cfg80211 27144 2 ath5k,mac80211
    sdhci_pci 11136 0
    sdhci 18564 1 sdhci_pci
    mmc_core 49820 1 sdhci
    k8temp 8192 0
    snd_hda_intel 367756 0
    snd_pcm 70788 2 snd_pcm_oss,snd_hda_intel
    snd_timer 23176 2 snd_seq,snd_pcm
    snd_page_alloc 11400 2 snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm
    snd_hwdep 10756 1 snd_hda_intel
    snd 51748 9 snd_seq_oss,snd_seq,snd_seq_device,snd_pcm_oss,snd _mixer_oss,snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm,snd_timer,snd_hwd ep
    soundcore 10080 1 snd
    agpgart 32584 1 nvidia
    forcedeth 55952 0
    evdev 13088 6
    thermal 19484 0
    psmouse 40592 0
    serio_raw 9220 0
    button 10128 0
    processor 36648 1 thermal
    video 20624 5
    output 6656 1 video
    ac 8196 0
    sg 30516 0
    wmi 9768 0
    thermal_sys 15144 3 thermal,processor,video
    hwmon 6300 2 k8temp,thermal_sys
    battery 14340 0

  5. #5
    Linux Engineer Freston's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,049
    There where some interesting things about nvdia audio on the ALSA site. But I know not enough about the hardware to make something of it. It seems nvdia audio is actually Intel? That's how I read it anyway. I know it's not about the vendor of the hardware but about the particular chipset, so in theory it is possible I guess.

    Make a search on their site about your hardware, you'll find it
    Can't tell an OS by it's GUI

  6. #6
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    I'm using the exact same card as you, see my output here.
    Code:
    00:09.0 Audio device: nVidia Corporation MCP73 High Definition Audio (rev a1)
    While mine uses the snd-intel8x0 module, yours has loaded the snd_hda_intel module as seen in your above post.
    I would suggest that you try removing the snd_hda_intel module with this command
    Code:
    modprobe -r snd_hda_intel
    Then try loading the snd-intel8x0 module with this command.
    Code:
    modprobe snd-intel8x0
    If you get no errors or anything, then try playings some tunes or something.
    Good Luck!
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    5
    I loaded the snd-intel8x0 module and now I get the following error message when restarting the sound fro Control Center:

    Sound server informational message:
    Error while initializing the sound driver:
    device /dev/dsp can't be opened (No such file or directory)
    The sound server will continue, using the null output device.

  8. #8
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    And still no sound? I have gotten that error before too and sometimes it safe to ignore.
    Try these comands and post the output please.
    Code:
    ll /dev/dsp
    You may need to be in the audio group for access to /dev/dsp
    If /dev/dsp doesn't exist then you can create it with this command
    Code:
    mknod /dev/dsp c 14 3
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    5
    /dev/dsp exists I did not need to create it, but the command doesn't work:
    ll /dev/dsp
    -su: ll: command not found

  10. #10
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    Try adding yourself to the audio group with this command
    Code:
    gpasswd -a user audio
    where user is the actual username.
    After you modprobe -r snd_hda_intel and modprobe snd-intel8x0, issue this command too and post the output here please.
    Code:
    dmesg
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •