Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hi, I'm new to slackware 12.2 and am slightly confused with its package management. As far as I know there are 2 sources of packages. 1. The repository from the ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Linux Newbie

keeping slackware uptodate/ package management

Hi,
    I'm new to slackware 12.2 and am slightly confused with its package management.

As far as I know there are 2 sources of packages.
    1. The repository from the official slackware website
    2. Alien bob's slackbuilds

I've got a few questions. Is it ok to mix packages from both sources?
    How to best keep everything up to date. Is sbo_pkg enough for package management?
    Sbo_pkg draws on sources from the official slack website, am I right? So what about keeping
    slackbuilds up to date?

thanks for your replies

You'll find a lot of your questions about package management answered in chapter 18 of the Slackbook.

Apart from the official Slackware site and Aliens slackbuild scripts (excellent resource although not officially official), there are Slacky.eu and LinuxPackages.net to get your Slackware packages.

As you see, Slackware does not come with an officially supported repo. It is possible though to install slapt-get and possibly gslapt so to have that kind of apt-get functionality in Slackware, because the repo's do exist just outside the official distro.

Quote Originally Posted by portia
    I've got a few questions. Is it ok to mix packages from both sources?
    Yeah, very probably.

Quote Originally Posted by portia
    How to best keep everything up to date. Is sbo_pkg enough for package management?
    Sbo_pkg draws on sources from the official slack website, am I right? So what about keeping
    slackbuilds up to date?