Find the answer to your Linux question:
I've been running Slackware off-and-on for a couple years now, but I'm still a noob for the most part. I recently tried to install Slackware 12.2 on a new machine ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Cool [SOLVED] Slackware 12.2 & LSI SAS 8208ELP - no drives found

I've been running Slackware off-and-on for a couple years now, but I'm still a noob for the most part. I recently tried to install Slackware 12.2 on a new machine with all new drives. The drives are connected to an LSI SAS 9208ELP card and configured into RAID1 (first two drives) and RAID5 (next three drives) - with one extra drive as a hot spare.

When attempting to boot Slackware from the install CD, everything goes fine, I use the hugesmp.s kernel, but after the initial boot - when I first arrive at the command prompt - I can only see the virtual partition created during boot. fdisk -l shows empty - no devices connected. dmesg doesn't offer me much help either - I can see where the CD-ROM is assigned dev status, but this never happens to the raid, though there are several lines towards the end of dmesg showing "raid6" and then various transfer speeds.

If I try to run "setup" - it expectedly states that there are no linux partitions.

I'm sure the info I need is around somewhere, but this has been a difficult issue for me to find answers for via the search engines - I'm probably using poor keywords in the search.

I've read a lot of HOW TOs, but most of them assume fdisk -l or dmesg will show hdx or sdx assignments.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Linux Newbie
    Can you run an lspci (the LSI SAS 9208ELP is a PCI card..right?)
    The other question is when you boot are you still using the huge.smp kernel.
    From what your describing their have to be drivers or a module missing from the new kernel

Just Joined!
    dijetlo -