Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 29
Alright, I've got the driver installation program, but I think it has to be run from KDE. Has anyone looked at my config file yet? I can't seems to find ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Just Joined! technik733's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    California, Valley
    Posts
    16

    Alright, I've got the driver installation program, but I think it has to be run from KDE. Has anyone looked at my config file yet? I can't seems to find anything that looks out of place.

  2. #12
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    I'll admit that I'm fairly new to Slackware, but I didn't see anything odd about your xorg file... other than the fact that it's perfectly identical to mine!
    What type of file did you download? If it was a tarball you should be able to run it from console.
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  3. #13
    Just Joined! technik733's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    California, Valley
    Posts
    16
    I downloaded the linux "Driver Only" package, and it came as a .run file, so it's a binary. On the site it showed a graphical wizard, but I'll try itfrom command line... in about 10 minutes.

    If there's nothing wrong with my xorg.conf file, why would it be giving that error?

  4. #14
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    I don't have an ATI card. That might be why I don't have that issue. So your card may just be having a hard time with the "vesa" option.
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  5. #15
    Just Joined! technik733's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    California, Valley
    Posts
    16
    Hmm... I suspected that it would install from the command line, and it did. But it had errors, which unfortunately I did not move to this drive to post, but now my config file looks like this (attached) and it's still saying that it's having trouble parsing line 367, which is the second from the last line, and there's nothing wrong with it from what I can tell. I also commented out everything that mentioned "vesa" and left what ATI put in by default.

    I'll get the installation logfile right now.

    EDIT: Ok, I've looked at the logfile and it looks like it failed building the drivers for some reason that I cannot decipher. Something to do with pci_enable_msi and pci_disable_msi... So I ran the uninstall script and more or less returned my xorg.conf file back to the first one I uploaded here. Xorg is still saying that it is having trouble parsing the second to last line, seemingly no matter how it's set up. Why is this?

    The ATI installation log file is attached now as well.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  6. #16
    Just Joined! technik733's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    California, Valley
    Posts
    16
    Hey, I just added a second "EndSection" to the end of the config file, and it worked. Also, running the driver installation from KDE gave no errors. I'm posting from slackware right now, so it seems that all is well. =D I'm going to restart now and see if cube works.

    Hmm... it didn't have the ATI Drivers specified in the config file, so I put them in it. I'm very quickly getting the hang of this. But it's still lacking hardware acceleration, and I don't know why.

    The graphics part of my xorg.conf file now looks like this:

    Code:
    # **********************************************************************
    # Graphics device section
    # **********************************************************************
    
    # Any number of graphics device sections may be present
    
    # Section "Device"
    #    Identifier  "VESA Framebuffer"
    #    Driver      "vesa"
    #    VideoRam    4096
    #    Insert Clocks lines here if appropriate
    # EndSection
    
    Section "Device"
    	Identifier "ATI Device"
    	Driver "fglrx"
    	BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
    EndSection
    
    # **********************************************************************
    # Screen sections
    # **********************************************************************
    
    # Any number of screen sections may be present.  Each describes
    # the configuration of a single screen.  A single specific screen section
    # may be specified from the X server command line with the "-screen"
    # option.
    # Section "Screen"
    #    Identifier  "Screen 1"
    #    Device      "VESA Framebuffer"
    #    Monitor     "My Monitor"
    
    # If your card can handle it, a higher default color depth (like 24 or 32)
    # is highly recommended.
    
    #   DefaultDepth 8
    #   DefaultDepth 16
    #   DefaultDepth 24
    #   DefaultDepth 32
    
    # "1024x768" is also a conservative usable default resolution.  If you
    # have a better monitor, feel free to try resolutions such as
    # "1152x864", "1280x1024", "1600x1200", and "1800x1400" (or whatever your
    # card/monitor can produce)
    #
    #    Subsection "Display"
    #        Depth       8
    #        Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    #    EndSubsection
    #    Subsection "Display"
    #        Depth       16
    #        Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    #    EndSubsection
    #    Subsection "Display"
    #        Depth       24
    #        Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    #    EndSubsection
    #    Subsection "Display"
    #        Depth       32
    #        Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    #    EndSubsection
    
    Section "Screen"
    	Identifier "ATI Screen"
    	Device     "ATI Device"
    	Monitor    "ATI Monitor"
    	DefaultDepth     24
    	SubSection "Display"
    		Viewport   0 0
    		Depth     24
    	EndSubSection
    EndSection
    
    # **********************************************************************
    # ServerLayout sections.
    # **********************************************************************
    
    # Any number of ServerLayout sections may be present.  Each describes
    # the way multiple screens are organised.  A specific ServerLayout
    # section may be specified from the X server command line with the
    # "-layout" option.  In the absence of this, the first section is used.
    # When now ServerLayout section is present, the first Screen section
    # is used alone.
    
    Section "ServerLayout"
    
    # The Identifier line must be present
        Identifier  "Simple Layout"
    
    # Each Screen line specifies a Screen section name, and optionally
    # the relative position of other screens.  The four names after
    # primary screen name are the screens to the top, bottom, left and right
    # of the primary screen.  In this example, screen 2 is located to the
    # right of screen 1.
    
        Screen "ATI Screen"
    
    # Each InputDevice line specifies an InputDevice section name and
    # optionally some options to specify the way the device is to be
    # used.  Those options include "CorePointer", "CoreKeyboard" and
    # "SendCoreEvents".
    
        InputDevice "Mouse1" "CorePointer"
        InputDevice "Keyboard1" "CoreKeyboard"
    
    EndSection
    EndSection
    EDIT: Hmm... Also, lsmod does not show anything from ATI or the fglrx driver.

  7. #17
    Just Joined! technik733's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    California, Valley
    Posts
    16
    Is anyone still here? C'mon, I've even got it back to the original problem, lol.

  8. #18
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    We need to know the exact error you got, when you tried to install the .run file. You may need something trivial to make it work right.
    lsmod will not show the ati driver until you get it to run correctly without errors.
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  9. #19
    Just Joined! technik733's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    California, Valley
    Posts
    16
    I uploaded the installation logfile (post 15), and that aside, I also got the installer to run from KDE and it gave no errors. Nonetheless, the original problem still persists, and since it's not showing up in lsmod, I'd think it's still a driver issue. I don't know where to start troubleshooting that in Slackware though.

  10. #20
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    Check the ATI website, it should tell you if you need to do anything else, after building the driver.
    The logfile says
    You must change your working directory to /lib/modules/fglrx
    and then call ./make_install.sh in order to install the built module.
    Have you tried this yet?
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •