Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Hello, I'm new to linuxforums, but I hope I'm not too much of a noob. Anyway, I've just installed Windows 7 and Slackware 12.2 on my socket 754 machine, and ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Slow Graphics in [Slackware] 12.2

Hello, I'm new to linuxforums, but I hope I'm not too much of a noob.

Anyway, I've just installed Windows 7 and Slackware 12.2 on my socket 754 machine, and after some wrestling with the wireless card drivers, I've got networking worked out on it.

But now I've tried to test the drivers, and it seems that when I run Cube that it's using the CPU to render it, which is obviously terribly slow. I've noticed that KDE is also very slow moving things about, and I'm rather perplexed as to why this could be. Compared to my experience with windows, I'm very new to linux, but I know enough to check the drivers with lspci, which produces:

01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc RV530 [Radeon X1600]
    01:00.1 Display controller: ATI Technologies Inc RV530 [Radeon X1600] (Secondary)

It is a Radeon 1600, but it has an AGP bridge chip, and I'm wondering if that could be causing a problem. Also, when KPersonalizer ran the first time I did startx, I chose the lowest performance setting because I wanted it to run fast, but I don't think that'd make every application slow. But I dunno. That aside, I don't know why it wouldn't be working.

Thanks for any help you can give me.

Hello and Welcome.
    One reason it could running really slow is that your video card doesn't like the driver you are currently using. I'm guessing that you are using the VESA driver and you probably want the ATI driver. Issue this command in a terminal window and post the output here please.
    Code:
    cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf |grep Driver
    Another reason could be your RAM and system specs. How much RAM do you have and what is the system CPU speed?