Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5
Results 41 to 49 of 49
Well, it compiled for me after installing those two patches. I can't test it because I don't have that wireless or the 2.6.29 kernel. That is up to you....
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #41
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    4,593

    Well, it compiled for me after installing those two patches. I can't test it because I don't have that wireless or the 2.6.29 kernel. That is up to you.
    Please do not send Private Messages to me with requests for help. I will not reply.

  2. #42
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    4,593
    Here is a thread on this subject from the Debian forums. If you haven't already read it, it may help you a little.

    Debian User Forums :: View topic - New Broadcom driver for recent 43xx wireless devices
    Please do not send Private Messages to me with requests for help. I will not reply.

  3. #43
    Linux Newbie TrashOverride's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    @home...soon in your homes ;) /usr/src/bulgaria
    Posts
    162
    i was also able patch the file with the same error from wl_iw_v2.patch
    now i have eth1 wireless.

    But still cannot connect.

    I'll read the thred
    10x

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #44
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    4,593
    Check the output of dmesg for error messages. Wireless messages are usually towards the end. Make sure that you don't have any interfering modules:

    ndiswrapper
    b43
    ssb

    Also, what does the output of iwconfig say? Since it is usung the eth1 name, maybe the netconfig comand will work on it.
    Please do not send Private Messages to me with requests for help. I will not reply.

  6. #45
    Linux Newbie TrashOverride's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    @home...soon in your homes ;) /usr/src/bulgaria
    Posts
    162
    Code:
    dmesg | grep Broadcom
    [    2.354950] Bluetooth: Broadcom Blutonium firmware driver ver 1.2
    [    3.247527] usb 3-1: Manufacturer: Broadcom Corp
    [15488.673426] eth1: Broadcom BCM4315 802.11 Wireless Controller 5.10.79.10
    Code:
    dmesg | grep module
    [    0.640374] brd: module loaded
    [    0.641878] loop: module loaded
    [    2.806931] RPC: Registered udp transport module.
    [    2.807594] RPC: Registered tcp transport module.
    [15488.634688] wl: module license '' taints kernel.
    dmesg
    Code:
    [    2.810271] lib80211: common routines for IEEE802.11 drivers
    b43, ndiswrapper ssb are blacklisted just in case.

    iwconfig
    Code:
    lo        no wireless extensions.
    
    eth0      no wireless extensions.
    
    tunl0     no wireless extensions.
    
    sit0      no wireless extensions.
    
    eth1      IEEE 802.11bg  ESSID:""  Nickname:"amidamar"
              Mode:Managed  Frequency:2.437 GHz  Access Point: Not-Associated
              Bit Rate:54 Mb/s   Tx-Power:32 dBm
              Retry min limit:7   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
              Power Managementmode:All packets received
              Link Quality=5/5  Signal level=-34 dBm  Noise level=-86 dBm
              Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
              Tx excessive retries:0  Invalid misc:0   Missed beacon:0

  7. #46
    Linux Newbie TrashOverride's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    @home...soon in your homes ;) /usr/src/bulgaria
    Posts
    162
    Ok, i think we are on going on the wrong track. I noteced that sometimes in the log it says
    Code:
    /sbin/dhcpcd: not running
    I tried to use dhclient but it says that time out waiting for a valid DHCP server response...

    I'm starting to think there is something wrong with the config of the router. I have two other networks with WPA2 and when i try to connect it stops at 2-3 seconds. (because i dont have the right password )

    maybe if i try to add my laptop mac addres, but then do i have to add all the mac adresses of the other computers who use this network?

    my router is Netgear Rangemax WPN824 v2 with updated firmware.

  8. #47
    Linux Newbie TrashOverride's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    @home...soon in your homes ;) /usr/src/bulgaria
    Posts
    162
    SUCSESS!! I looked trough the router config and it saw it supports WPA + WPA2, so i changed it to WPA2 only and i was able to connect slowly. The connection i s a bit slow, but the point is that i connceted.

    To sum up:
    1. I used the original broadcom driver with the wl_iw_v2.patch ( which didnt patch anything ) and broadcom-sta-5.10.79.10-linux-2.6.29.patch.
    2. ifconfig eth0 down (just in case)
    3. Check router config to be WPA or WPA2 (not both)
    4. Wicd

    and now a bit slow connection. If you have any idea... I'll look around again, but i think that's it. If i dont find anytnig about the slow connection i'll mark it solved

    Thank you very much waterhead!!!

  9. #48
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    4,593
    Well, at least it is working. I think this is where you were before I started to "help" you.

    You can change the connection speed using iwconfig. But I see that it is already reporting 54 MB/s, so it may just be the router.
    Quote Originally Posted by TrashOverride View Post
    iwconfig
    lo no wireless extensions.

    eth0 no wireless extensions.

    tunl0 no wireless extensions.

    sit0 no wireless extensions.

    eth1 IEEE 802.11bg ESSID:"" Nickname:"amidamar"
    Mode:Managed Frequency:2.437 GHz Access Point: Not-Associated
    Bit Rate:54 Mb/s Tx-Power:32 dBm
    Retry min limit:7 RTS thr:off Fragment thr:off
    Power Managementmode:All packets received
    Link Quality=5/5 Signal level=-34 dBm Noise level=-86 dBm
    Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
    Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0
    Please do not send Private Messages to me with requests for help. I will not reply.

  10. #49
    Linux Newbie TrashOverride's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    @home...soon in your homes ;) /usr/src/bulgaria
    Posts
    162
    OK, i didn't find anything about the connection, I am guessing it's the router too, so i mark it solved.

    10x for stiking up with me.

Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •