Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hey all! I've never used any distro of Linux before, so I'd appreciate any advice or feedback on deciding which distro to go with. I was given an IBM Thinkpad ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Slackware vs DSL? (for an old IBM ThinkPad)

Hey all!

I've never used any distro of Linux before, so I'd appreciate any advice or feedback on deciding which distro to go with.

I was given an IBM Thinkpad 2635 (a very old laptop, circa 199. It has, (don't laugh!) a mere 300Mhz CPU and (again, try not LOL here) 48MB of RAM. It's currently running Win98, and seems very responsive and stable -- and 93% resources free when idle.

But Win98 is waaay outdated, I'm especially worried about Win98's suceptibility to malware and trojans. Any up-to-virus, isn't even compatible with Win98. When I put in 256MB of Ram, it'll meet the minimum for WinXP, but it'll be heavy, even Win2k would be heavy, I need something more lightweight, that's why I'm turning to Linux.

I've narrowed it down to Slackware or DSL. Keep in mind, I'll be using this machine ONLY for email, light web-browsing, and maybe listening to music (CD or MP3). So all other daemon apps, services, and drivers not required for that usage, or for this machine, will be removed by me. (Preferably before the installation, to save time).

oz
    forum.guy
    Welcome to the forums!

I'd personally recommend trying DSL first. It's a small download and quick burn to disk, and should work fine for you. If it doesn't, you can always try Slackware.

Best of luck with it.
    oz

Just Joined!
    Thanks Ozar! That was a fast reply.

I was leaning toward DSL myself, but for the second part of my question:

How will I slipsteam my device drivers? And make sure the ones that don't apply don't get installed? And how big of a HDD will I need for DSL.