Find the answer to your Linux question:
Please exscuse me if i sound like an idiot but i am very new to this linuz stuff... my problem is.. i want to run backtrack 3 i have downloaded ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

backtrack 3 help!! sorry very new to this

Please exscuse me if i sound like an idiot but i am very new to this linuz stuff...

my problem is.. i want to run backtrack 3 i have downloaded the cd mirror for it but this is as far as i have got.. i have burnt it too cd and tried to boot up from it and all i get is invalid perameters.. i dont know if i exctracting it right when i download it? or all this talk about isos i dont know what to do with iso files either ,or what they are once it is downloaded it unzips as two files boot and bt3.. i dont know what to burn to create a bootable disk..

please make ur answers to this question as stupid proof as possible..

Thank you for taking the time to read this post..

Blackfooted Penguin daark.child's Avatar
    Hi and welcome to the forum.

When you download an iso file, you should not do any extracting of the file. What you need to do is use a cd burning program to burn the iso to a cd. Usually you will see an option like "burn cd image to disc" or something similar in your cd burning program. Thats the option you need to choose and then point the program to your iso.

Just Joined!

iso buster

right i have isobuster and t has found the file how do i go about creating a bootable disk from this?

Download and use the free software I am gonna provide in the link below. Use Burn iso image from menu and insert your backtrack iso as the image to be burned.

The Official ImgBurn Website
    Linux Registered User # 475019
    Lead,Follow, or get the heck out of the way. I Have a Masters in Raising Hell
    Tech Books
    Free Linux Books
    Newbie Guide
    Courses at Home

Just Joined!

stilll probs