Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hey I just ordered slackware 12.2 and I plan on running XP on one drive and Slackware on the other. I was wondering if I could dual boot them with ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Dual boot question

Hey I just ordered slackware 12.2 and I plan on running XP on one drive and Slackware on the other. I was wondering if I could dual boot them with out having to mess with windows mbr like maybe use F8 at start up and tell bios to boot the second drive first? I'm kind of new to linux so im not sure if I can do this or I have to set up lilo for it or what.

During the Slackware install, you'll be offered the opportunity to create lilo as your boot loader. You'll be able to specify which OS to boot into by default. Once Lilo is set up correctly, it will be the first screen you'll see when booting and will give you the choice of booting to either Windows or Slackware. Good luck!
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered: #371367 New Members: click here

Best way is, unplug or disable Windows OS harddisk in BIOS during Linux installation. Plug-in back after Linux installation and add its entry in Boot Loader of Linux.
    In this way there won't be any chance of mistake and both of your disks will be independent of each other.

You can use Linux boot loader to boot either OS or select boot device in BIOS. Its easy to configure Linux boot loader instead of selecting device in BIOS every time.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

Just Joined!