Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
Hi Gang, At my school they offer wireless for students. Of course they support windows and Macs. I have slackware they tell me it is not possible to get on ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Engineer adrenaline's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Seattle, Washington
    Posts
    1,058

    Wireless in Slackware


    Hi Gang,
    At my school they offer wireless for students. Of course they support windows and Macs. I have slackware they tell me it is not possible to get on their network with Slackware well so far they are right, but I am close and I need someones help to bridge the gap. Let me explain what I have done and see if someone can fill the missing link.

    I boot up as root and go into x. I start kwifimanager and it sees that there is wireless but won't connect. The school provides wireless via wep. I went to /etc/rc.d/rc.wireless.conf and edited the file for vlan + orinoco and added the ssid and the wep key. restarted rc.wireless and now the bar on top is full green but no IP. I went to rc.inet1.conf and configured it to dhcp and restarted the rc.inet1 tells me no dhcp is available.
    I then went to another students laptop (windows) that was on wireless and looked at his settings. His was set for dhcp so I did a ipconfiig and go the ip stats then manually added them into my rc.inet1 file rebooted and came back showed ip address encryption enabled, excellent reception, but no hookup. I can ping my immediate ip address but not the gateway.
    Is there another file i am missing or something might not be thinking of.
    Please give me more ideas to try even if they sound crazy. I am stumped and all my class mates think I am stupid for not running windows because its "so easy" . Sorry I don't want to be easy I want to be smart.
    I can't live without my slackware somebody please help!!

    Thanks,
    Mike

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer adrenaline's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Seattle, Washington
    Posts
    1,058
    Did this get passed up because it is too hard to explain or maybe nobody knows the answer or maybe it is a stupid question? Somebody just throw something out there. I am missing one thing (I think) I can see all the information on wifimanager just not getting online. Someone throw me a bone I am so close here.
    Thanks,
    Mike

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Tunbridge Wells, England
    Posts
    24
    What kind of machine is it, laptop or desktop? and also, what kind of wireless card?

  4. #4
    Linux Engineer adrenaline's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Seattle, Washington
    Posts
    1,058
    It is a laptop (Toshiba Satelite 5105) with a PCMCIA Avaya Silver orinoco

  5. #5
    Linux Engineer adrenaline's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Seattle, Washington
    Posts
    1,058
    OK here is the deal when I do a iwconfig it tells me all of my info but then it says rx invalid cryp. I think it is the wep thing. It shows me the wep number so I think it is working but something is wrong. I hope this narrows it down a little. IF anybody has any Idea I would sure appreciate it.

    Thanks,
    Mike

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    California USA
    Posts
    3

    well does your ver of slack recognize the card?

    if it dosent do you use ndiswrapper, and if so I can help you from there.

  7. #7
    Linux Engineer adrenaline's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Seattle, Washington
    Posts
    1,058
    I haven't heard of that what is it?

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    California USA
    Posts
    3
    ndiswrapper allows you to load Windows drivers in Linux in case your drivers dont support linux

  9. #9
    Linux Guru kkubasik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Lat: 39:03:51N Lon: 77:14:37W
    Posts
    2,396
    It sounds like the drivers might be working fine, a suggestion, airsnort, a wep encryption cracker..... install and run that , will probably take between an hour and like a day depending on processer speed and the network reception/speed/encryption level. see what that turns up, its not to hard to use but see if that doesn't help.
    Avoid the Gates of Hell. Use Linux
    A Penny for your Thoughts

    Formerly Known as qub333

  10. #10
    Linux Engineer adrenaline's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Seattle, Washington
    Posts
    1,058
    The drivers work I can use the wireless at home although I don't use WEP at home. I just can seem to get pased the wep.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •