Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 10 of 10
ibm 1.5 ghz with 256 mb ram im wondering if slackware 13 would be the perfect resourse friendly distro? what do you guys think?...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    206

    My Wife has very old Laptop


    ibm 1.5 ghz with 256 mb ram im wondering if slackware 13 would be the perfect resourse friendly distro? what do you guys think?

  2. #2
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    Here are the system hardware requirements to run Slackware:

    The Slackware Linux Project: Installation Help

    I've ran Slack many times and think it will run on the requirements mentioned but also think it would be terribly slow on a 486 with 64 megs of RAM, should you want to run a GUI.
    oz

  3. #3
    Linux Engineer Freston's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,049
    1.5 Ghz is still a perfectly good machine. You may want to consider adding some RAM, as that is rather cheap these days and will improve the performance a lot.

    If you like Slackware, you may also want to look into VectorLinux. It's basically Slackware, but optimized for home usage. So it has all the codexes and media players and all. And it's very fast. I've had no trouble running that on a 800Mhz 256MB RAM.
    Can't tell an OS by it's GUI

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru reed9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    4,651
    I would agree vector linux would be good or for a debian based distro, Antix.

    Slackware is what you make of it, in large part, but it can be a challenge to set up. You wouldn't want to run KDE in Slackware or any other distro on that machine.

  6. #5
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    Quote Originally Posted by reed9 View Post
    You wouldn't want to run KDE in Slackware or any other distro on that machine.
    No kidding! But a lightweight WM like XFCE, or better yet IceWM, would have no trouble at all on that box.

    My first Linux install was on a 1 gig processor with 512 RAM. Fedora + IceWM ran really smooth, so I can only assume that something like Vector or Antix would be lightning fast!
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  7. #6
    Penguin of trust elija's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Either at home or at work or down the pub
    Posts
    3,625
    If you do go for Slackware, have a look at slackbuilds for software installation
    "I used to be with it, then they changed what it was.
    Now what was it isn't it, and what is it is weird and scary to me.
    It'll happen to you too."

    Grandpa Simpson



    The Fifth Continent

  8. #7
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    I think Slax and Zenwalk are another couple of Slackware based distros that might be light enough work on it, or at least worth an attempt.
    oz

  9. #8
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    206
    Ok some of you suggested Slackware with Xfce now would any of you would be able to tell me how i can install Slackware with xfce?

  10. #9
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    Zenwalk as mentioned above is based off of Slackware, and it uses Xfce, so you might find it easier to install and use than a Slackware/Xfce install:

    www.zenwalk.org - Ever tried zen computing?
    oz

  11. #10
    Linux Engineer Freston's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,049
    Xfce comes in the default install of Slackware. To be more precise, it's in the xap/ package collection. KDE is in it's own kde/ package collection, so it's easy to exclude that from the install.
    Can't tell an OS by it's GUI

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •