Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hey all, Sorry if this is a repetetive post, I've been browsing for hours and what I have found was either too confusing or didn't seem relevant. Right, so I'm ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

[SOLVED] Slackware 12.2 and Broadcomm BCM4328 802.11a

Hey all,

Sorry if this is a repetetive post, I've been browsing for hours and what I have found was either too confusing or didn't seem relevant. Right, so I'm totally new to linux. Lets say I wouldn't recognize a kernel if you smacked me in the face with it.

I've got Slackware 12.2 installed on an HP pavillion dv9925nr. I have successfully muddled my way through everything besides making my wireless card work. I have tried numerous walkthroughs and faqs. I sort of tried ndiswrapper, i installed Wicd. I can't make this wireless card go.

its a BCM4328 rev 03 atleast under my lspci.

iwconfig results in: lo no wireless extensions and eth0 no wireless extensions.

My ethernet interweb works fine, but I need to be able to tether with my phone and that can only be done over wireless.

I would really appreciate a wireless for dummy walkthrough, I hate vista so much i can taste it and I want to delete that partition, but not until i've got wireless.

I hope someone knows how to help!

p.s. erm this is embarassing but if your directions include thing like "install the relevant driver" could you give command line instructions for that i.e. tar -vxf make make install and all that because Im currently just typing things till something happens and I want to be more sure than of what im doing.

Thanks in advance!

Not sure why you're starting with Slackware, but more power to you.

You need the broadcom wl driver. I couldn't find a slackbuild for it, so you'll need to download and compile it yourself.

Here's a guide that should work.
    Installing Broadcom 802.11 Linux STA driver Lost in Cyberspace