Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
Hi, I installed four virtual box packages from slackbuilds for Slackware 13 (fluxbox): virtualbox-kernel, virtualbox-kernel-add, virtualbox-ose, virtualbox-ose-addons. I remember that during the installation I had to create virtualbox user and ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    104

    virtualbox


    Hi,
    I installed four virtual box packages from slackbuilds for Slackware 13 (fluxbox):
    virtualbox-kernel, virtualbox-kernel-add, virtualbox-ose, virtualbox-ose-addons.
    I remember that during the installation I had to create virtualbox user and group.

    Now having installed it, how can I run it? I can't see it anywhere. I try to press 'v' and TAB to see if there are any programs like that in my path, but nothing.

    Do I need to point lilo to boot virtual-box kernel to run virtualbox? If so, how would I do it? Can I have a choice which kernel to boot as it is in grub?

    Thanks in advance and do appreciate your help.

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer Freston's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,049
    Heh, you are soo close

    VirtualBox is with a capital 'V', try that and pressing [tab]

    And no, you don't need to be in lilo for anything.
    Can't tell an OS by it's GUI

  3. #3
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    104
    OMG
    thanks.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    104
    VB actually starts normally but I get the following error:
    Code:
    bash-3.1$ VirtualBox
    WARNING: The vboxdrv kernel module is not loaded. Either there is no module
             available for the current kernel (2.6.29.6-smp) or it failed to
             load. Please recompile the kernel module and install it by
    
               sudo /etc/init.d/vboxdrv setup
    
             You will not be able to start VMs until this problem is fixed.
    When I try to execute /etc/init.d/vboxdrv setup it says that there's no such file/directory.

  6. #5
    Linux Engineer Freston's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,049
    Ah, indeed...

    Slackware uses the BSD style init, so you're looking for:
    Code:
    /etc/rc.d/rc.vboxdrv setup
    Can't tell an OS by it's GUI

  7. #6
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    104
    Thanks, I forgot about it.

    I went to /etc/rc.d changed the permissions +x and:
    Code:
    bash-3.1# ./rc.vboxdrv setup
    Not implemented! Please use the virtualbox-kernel.SlackBuild available at SlackBuilds.org instead.

  8. #7
    Linux Engineer Freston's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,049
    Hmmm, I'm not fully sure


    Maybe this is of some use? I compiled VB from source, which was some work, but what you ran into seems a slackbuilds peculiarity...
    Can't tell an OS by it's GUI

  9. #8
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    104
    Thanks,
    I have virtualbox-kernel installed from slackbuilds. I don't understand it. Am I supposed to do anything with this kernel? All the necessary modules seem to be loaded:
    VirtualBox kernel modules (vboxdrv, vboxnetflt and vboxnetadp) are loaded.

  10. #9
    Linux Engineer Freston's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,049
    And if you just try your luck with:
    Code:
    /etc/rc.d/rc.vboxdrv start
    Can't tell an OS by it's GUI

  11. #10
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    104
    I can run vboxdrv start/restart without any problems. It's just everytime I start VB I encounter this error that I need to run vboxdrv setup. I also removed all virtualbox-*-addons packages. Apparently they're not supposed to be on the host system. I'm installing now Ubuntu 9.10 alpha in VB to see how it looks like. The CLI installer screens draw rather slowly.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •