Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 26
So I have a Linksys WRT160N V3. I just freshly installed Slackware 13.0 and have been trying to connect to my router via HTTP for about an hour now, searching ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    8

    Cannot access Router Settings via HTTP


    So I have a Linksys WRT160N V3. I just freshly installed Slackware 13.0 and have been trying to connect to my router via HTTP for about an hour now, searching the internet and whatnot and even here in Linux Forums. My Default Gateway is reported as 192.168.1.1 by netstat -rn. But whenever I type that into my browser it instantly says that it cannot connect to the specified address. I have tried this in SeaMonkey, Konquerer and Firefox thinking maybe it was a browser compatibility issue. I had read that Linksys had changed the default gateway to 192.168.2.1 so i tried that, it came up saying that it timed out when trying to connect on Port 80. So I edited my rc.inet1.conf and set the Default Gateway to 192.168.2.1 which just broke everything. Currently I have unspecified the default gateway in my rc.inet1.conf but I am still unable to connect to my Router via HTTP.

    Any ideas would be very appreciative.

  2. #2
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    I don't think this works on all routers but try browsing to
    http://home/
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    8
    So, it works. Kind of, instead of sending me to the routers homepage it routes through to my Motorola modem and sends me to my cable providers homepage.

  4. #4
    Linux Engineer rcgreen's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    the hills
    Posts
    1,134
    If 192.168.1.1 is your default gateway, then that is the
    address that should work. Do you have another computer
    to try it with?

  5. #5
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    Quote Originally Posted by rcgreen View Post
    If 192.168.1.1 is your default gateway, then that is the
    address that should work. Do you have another computer
    to try it with?
    I have a Gateway 2Wire router.
    Code:
    route 
    Kernel IP routing table
    Destination     Gateway         Genmask         Flags Metric Ref    Use Iface
    192.168.1.0     *               255.255.255.0   U     2004   0        0 wlan0
    loopback        localhost       255.0.0.0       UG    0      0        0 lo
    default         home            0.0.0.0         UG    2004   0        0 wlan0

    Yet, I cannot get to anything on 192.168.1.x, but I can get to http://home or 192.168.1.254
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    8
    No, I do not have another computer to try it with. The entire reason why I am even fighting with this is because I'm trying to set up my wireless, but I need my WPA key which I would normally get from my router, but since I can't log in... You know the deal.

  7. #7
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    264
    ?
    What's your hardware configuration?
    As I see it, you have some kind of Modemrouter (192.168.1.1) and a second Router for your wireless network used as Access Point.
    And you want to access the wireless router ...

    The name "home" is resolved the address of your Provider Homepage.

    Is that summary right?

    It seems that your Access-Point has any other IP.
    Depending on the configuration it has it could be any imaginable IP.
    You may see it with a traceroute ...
    First IPs I would try is: 192.168.1.2 or 192.168.1.254
    192.168.1.1 should be the standart IP of it.
    Maybe you have an Address conflict ...

    Or theres a setting saying, that it isn't allowed to config by wireless ... is a typical linksys option.
    Would explain that you get an REJECT instead of an DROP on http requests.

    So throw some dice too decide on an error ...

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    8
    The current configuration is this:

    Standard Motorola Surfboard cable Modem leads into Linksys Router.
    Considering I cannot connect Wirelessly to my router because I forgot to write my Wireless Access Key down I am currently connected to the Router via Wired connection.

    I have tried the following as possible addresses to get into the router via an internet browser and telnet on port 80:

    Code:
    192.168.1.1
    Browser - Instant Fail
    Telnet - Reports that the connection was refused
    
    192.168.1.254
    Browser - Instant Fail
    Telnet - Cannot connect to host
    
    192.168.0.1
    Browser - Instant Fail
    Telnet - Cannot connect to host
    
    192.168.2.1
    Browser - Instant Fail
    Telnet - Cannot connect to host
    
    home
    Browser - Sends me to my providers website
    Telnet - Connects and allows me to send HTTP commands through Telnet to my providers website
    Trace Routes came back with the following:
    Code:
    david@Shouboushi:~$ traceroute 192.168.1.1
    traceroute to 192.168.1.1 (192.168.1.1), 30 hops max, 38 byte packets
     1  192.168.1.1 (192.168.1.1)  2.171 ms  2.149 ms  2.128 ms
    david@Shouboushi:~$ traceroute 192.168.1.2
    traceroute to 192.168.1.2 (192.168.1.2), 30 hops max, 38 byte packets
     1  192.168.1.105 (192.168.1.105)  3000.862 ms !H  3013.797 ms !H  3019.834 ms !H
    david@Shouboushi:~$ traceroute 192.168.1.254
    traceroute to 192.168.1.254 (192.168.1.254), 30 hops max, 38 byte packets
     1  192.168.1.105 (192.168.1.105)  3001.435 ms !H  3004.398 ms !H  3015.924 ms !H
    david@Shouboushi:~$
    192.168.1.105 is the IP that is currently assigned to my laptop.

    Thanks everyone for your help, i've been trying to figure this out for the last 3 hours considering i can't be connected by a wire all the time.

  9. #9
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    Whenever I had a separate wireless router, the address for that became 192.168.2.1 because the regular modem was 192.168.1.1, maybe try that one.
    Last edited by MikeTbob; 01-02-2010 at 11:59 PM. Reason: Typos
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  10. #10
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    264
    ok ... so the router has the ip 192.168.1.1
    rejecting connections on port 80 ...

    there just two more tips i can think of:
    1. restart router (drop power supply . add it again)
    I assume u've done that already several times.

    2. use nmap to look for any other open ports ...
    first just nmap 192.168.1.1
    then
    nmap 192.168.1.1 -p 2080,8080
    nmap 192.168.1.1 -p 1-16500
    If you find an open one just try to connect with firefox or any other browser:
    as: http: 192.168.1.1:2080

    Can't think of any other advise ...
    and can't write the "//" because of link block.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •