Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hello, I'm completely new to Linux, my distro is Slackware 10.0, I recently installed it on a dual boot system with windows(which i hate). Anyways, at first, my ethernet card ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Couple problems....

Hello, I'm completely new to Linux, my distro is Slackware 10.0, I recently installed it on a dual boot system with windows(which i hate). Anyways, at first, my ethernet card didn't work, but somehow that magically is better...obviously lol.

My first problem is, i have no sound. And, i would go about rooting around trying to figure things out but i have no idea what I'm doin, my friend just reccomended this OS to me, after hearing my... feelings towards Windows. Only reason i am still using a dual boot system is because I'm a gamer, and i need to use windows.

Second problem is slightly smaller, my scroll wheel on my mouse doesnt work. lol.
    Oh, and if anyone knows a way i can play games on Linux that are normally only windows compatible... let me know. Here are my system specs:

Motherboard : ASUS A7V8X-X
    Processer: AMD Athlon XP 2100+
    Memory: 1024 MB Kingston PC3200
    Video Card: NVIDIA GeforceFX 5700LE
    Onboard Sound Card

One of the great things about slaceware is the speed and the freedom. Sometimes that neans there are some bumps in the road to get there, but once you get it figured out you will be happy.

You scroll doesn't work because you have add a line in your/etc/X11/xorg.conf file

Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier "Mouse0"
    Driver "mouse"
    Option "Device" "/dev/mouse"
    Option "Protocol" "PS/2"
    Option "Emulate3Buttons" "off"
    Option "ZaxisMapping" "4 5"
    EndSection

Mine looks something like this make sure you add the Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"

(make sure there is a space between the 4 and 5.)
    That should take care of your mouse.