Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 8 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 78
Hello I recently bought the slackware 13.0 cd distro and installed it and everything went fine till i tried to connect wirelessly to my router. I installed wicd but that ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    96

    need help with wireless net


    Hello I recently bought the slackware 13.0 cd distro and installed it and everything went fine till i tried to connect wirelessly to my router. I installed wicd but that didnt help it still says theres no networks to connect to. I then went into the rc.modules and uncommented the drivers to try to get one to work and saved the file but nothing changed. Can someone please help me set up my wireless internet the card is a Intel PRO/Wireless 2200BG

  2. #2
    Linux Guru reed9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    4,651
    Do you have the firmware installed?

    Post the output of
    Code:
    dmesg | grep firmware

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    96
    I had to edit the message it told me i had to go to a website known as
    linuxwireless and download firmware
    dmesg |grep firmware
    b43 ssb0:0: firmware: requesting b43/ucode5.fw
    b43-phy0 ERROR: You must go to (version 4).
    b43 ssb0:0: firmware: requesting b43/ucode5.fw
    b43-phy0 ERROR: You must go to (version 4).
    b43 ssb0:0: firmware: requesting b43/ucode5.fw
    b43-phy0 ERROR: You must go to and download the latest firmware" (version 4).
    b43 ssb0:0: firmware: requesting b43/ucode5.fw
    b43-phy0 ERROR: You must go to and download the latest firmware (version 4).
    b43 ssb0:0: firmware: requesting b43/ucode5.fw
    b43-phy0 ERROR: You must go to and download the latest firmware (version 4).
    root@07B409050450:~#

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    96

    driver

    It says I need a driver known as broadcom b43 from that linux wireless site but when i go to the downloads section it has install instructions for other linux versions but not slackware so I dont know how to get it installed

  6. #5
    Linux Guru reed9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    4,651
    b43 ssb0:0: firmware: requesting b43/ucode5.fw
    b43-phy0 ERROR: You must go to (version 4).
    This would indicate you have a broadcom wireless card, not an intel pro card.

    What is the output of
    Code:
    lspci -vnn
    lsmod

  7. #6
    Linux Guru reed9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    4,651
    Assuming you do have a broadcom card, there are slackbuilds available for b43-fwcutter and b43-firmware. Both are needed.

    http://slackbuilds.org/result/?search=b43&sv=13.0

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    96

    driver

    That is what it says I need now is there any special thing i need to do to get it installed and working. Im pretty knew to this linux stuff.

  9. #8
    Linux Guru reed9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    4,651
    Slackware is not the easiest place to begin.

    You need to install b43-fwcutter first and then b43-firmware.

    Here are a couple of guides on how to use slackbuilds.
    SlackBuilds.org
    Adventures in Linux: How to use slackbuilds

  10. #9
    Linux Guru reed9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    4,651
    Here's another good guide with screenshots.
    The Perfect Desktop - Slackware 12 - Page 06 | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

    It's for Slackware 12, but everything should still be applicable.

  11. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    96

    driver

    I got theb43-fwcutter.tgz and the b43legacyfirmware.tar.gz and the b43firmware.tar.gz files on the linux system and i have all 3 extraced to theyre own folders but how do i run them from there. Sighs this is making me feel dumb

Page 1 of 8 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •