Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 5 of 5
hi, "ifconfig" shows: bash-3.1# ifconfig eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:1d:09:49:bb:ab inet addr:192.168.1.3 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0 inet6 addr: fe80::21d:9ff:fe49:bbab/64 Scope:Link UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1 RX packets:7221 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0 ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1

    slackware 13 BCM431 wireless chipset


    hi,

    "ifconfig" shows:
    bash-3.1# ifconfig
    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:1d:09:49:bb:ab
    inet addr:192.168.1.3 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    inet6 addr: fe80::21d:9ff:fe49:bbab/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:7221 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:5987 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:8784526 (8.3 MiB) TX bytes:737682 (720.3 KiB)
    Interrupt:16

    eth1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:1f:e1:34:51:db
    inet6 addr: fe80::21f:e1ff:fe34:51db/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
    Interrupt:17 Base address:0xc000

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:2 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:2 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:100 (100.0 B) TX bytes:100 (100.0 B)
    eth0 is my wired connection.

    eth1 is my BCM431 wireless card for my dell inspiron 1525 which detects wireless access points.

    iwlist scan:
    bash-3.1# iwlist scan
    lo Interface doesn't support scanning.

    eth0 Interface doesn't support scanning.

    eth1 Scan completed :
    Cell 01 - Address: 00:1F:33:B7:16:66
    ESSID:"shanahan"
    Mode:Managed
    Frequency:2.412 GHz (Channel 1)
    Quality:5/5 Signal level:-50 dBm Noise level:-91 dBm
    IE: IEEE 802.11i/WPA2 Version 1
    Group Cipher : CCMP
    Pairwise Ciphers (1) : CCMP
    Authentication Suites (1) : PSK
    Encryption key:on
    Bit Rates:1 Mb/s; 2 Mb/s; 5.5 Mb/s; 11 Mb/s; 18 Mb/s
    24 Mb/s; 36 Mb/s; 54 Mb/s; 6 Mb/s; 9 Mb/s
    12 Mb/s; 48 Mb/s
    Cell 02 - Address: 00:16:E3:BE:C3:96
    ESSID:"liverpool1"
    Mode:Managed
    Frequency:2.437 GHz (Channel 6)
    Quality:1/5 Signal level:-90 dBm Noise level:-93 dBm
    IE: WPA Version 1
    Group Cipher : TKIP
    Pairwise Ciphers (1) : TKIP
    Authentication Suites (1) : PSK
    Encryption key:on
    Bit Rates:1 Mb/s; 2 Mb/s; 5.5 Mb/s; 11 Mb/s; 6 Mb/s
    9 Mb/s; 12 Mb/s; 18 Mb/s; 24 Mb/s; 36 Mb/s
    48 Mb/s; 54 Mb/s
    Cell 03 - Address: 00:1CF:11:6F:2F
    ESSID:"Belkin_G_Plus_MIMO_DAVE46"
    Mode:Managed
    Frequency:2.462 GHz (Channel 11)
    Quality:1/5 Signal level:-88 dBm Noise level:-92 dBm
    IE: WPA Version 1
    Group Cipher : TKIP
    Pairwise Ciphers (1) : TKIP
    Authentication Suites (1) : PSK
    Encryption key:on
    Bit Rates:1 Mb/s; 2 Mb/s; 5.5 Mb/s; 11 Mb/s; 9 Mb/s
    18 Mb/s; 36 Mb/s; 54 Mb/s; 6 Mb/s; 12 Mb/s
    24 Mb/s; 48 Mb/s
    however, when i run wicd it detects my wireless ap, but when i connect to it, it validates the trys to obtain an ip but show the error "connection failed: unable to get IP address"



    any ideas guys/gals?

  2. #2
    Just Joined! brokndodge's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Arkansas, USA
    Posts
    78
    my own best guess is that the encryption key is entered incorrectly. but i know from experience that wicd has a lot of issues. particularly with encrypted networks. you best bet will be to research the wireless command line tools. then write a short shell script to connect with each boot.

    incidentally, i've seen wicd think that it wasn't connected when command line tools said it was. i had to shutdown wicd in that case and just manage the connection with iwconfig. man iwconfig will give you enough information to get your wireless up without wicd.

  3. #3
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    I ran Slack for a short while, and had the exact same trouble with wicd.
    I agree with brokndodge... you'll have far better results by using iwconfig and a small startup script.
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    4,593
    Broadcom wireless cards usually require that you install firmware. They will appear to work, but never actually connect.

    I don't know if Slackware has an easier way to install the firmware, but you can follow these instructions.

    b43 - Linux Wireless
    Please do not send Private Messages to me with requests for help. I will not reply.

  6. #5
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023

    Thumbs up

    I think that might be the page that I used at the time.
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •