Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
Hello everyone, thanks for checking out this thread. Here's my problem: When my computer boots, it loads KDM, and when I type in a name/pass for a normal user, the ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    7

    Why can't I log in as a non-root user?


    Hello everyone, thanks for checking out this thread. Here's my problem:

    When my computer boots, it loads KDM, and when I type in a name/pass for a normal user, the screen blanks and then starts X again and returns to KDM. (I think X is restarted, it goes back to the crappy grey houndstooth X server startup screen). In other words, it fails. This also fails in normal, console mode. Why? Should I post any files? Please help!

  2. #2
    Linux Guru kkubasik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Lat: 39:03:51N Lon: 77:14:37W
    Posts
    2,396
    its possible that your permissonions got borked for the user that you attempted to make, have you tried to make another user?

    useradd qub333

    passwd qub333


    hop on over to the /etc/groups file as root and add this new user too

    wheel, audio, cdrom, games,


    or any other groups you feel nessicary, the synax for a groups file isnt to hard, should you have any questions feel free to post back.
    Avoid the Gates of Hell. Use Linux
    A Penny for your Thoughts

    Formerly Known as qub333

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    7
    I already tried making another user...that didn't work. Any other ideas?

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Istanbul/Türkiye
    Posts
    246
    has this happened for a fresh install, or while you were using the sysytem suddenly you got this error?
    Just a Newbie....Looking 4 Info....

  6. #5
    Linux Guru sarumont's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    /dev/urandom
    Posts
    3,682
    Make sure the user is in the group users as well. Also did you create a home directory for the user? Just specifying it in your useradd line isn't quite enough.
    "Time is an illusion. Lunchtime, doubly so."
    ~Douglas Adams, The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy

  7. #6
    Linux Engineer adrenaline's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Seattle, Washington
    Posts
    1,058
    It will create a home directory if you use adduser instead of useradd.



    Mike

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •