Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
using slackware 13, KDE when i put in a DVD in my dvd drive nothing shows up in Device Notifier? but when i put in a CD into my cdrom ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    18

    DVD rom problem


    using slackware 13, KDE

    when i put in a DVD in my dvd drive nothing shows up in Device Notifier?
    but when i put in a CD into my cdrom drive it shows up.

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    18
    when i run mount /dev/hdd
    i get this
    Code:
    mount: can't find /dev/hdd in /etc/fstab or /etc/mtab
    here is my /etc/fstab file
    Code:
    /dev/hda2        swap             swap        defaults         0   0
    /dev/hda5        swap             swap        defaults         0   0
    /dev/hda7        swap             swap        defaults         0   0
    /dev/hda6        /                ext3        defaults         1   1
    #/dev/cdrom       /mnt/cdrom       auto        noauto,owner,ro  0   0
    /dev/fd0         /mnt/floppy      auto        noauto,owner     0   0
    devpts           /dev/pts         devpts      gid=5,mode=620   0   0
    proc             /proc            proc        defaults         0   0
    tmpfs            /dev/shm         tmpfs       defaults         0   0
    here is my /etc/mtab file
    Code:
    /dev/root / ext3 rw,errors=continue,data=ordered 0 0
    proc /proc proc rw 0 0
    sysfs /sys sysfs rw 0 0
    usbfs /proc/bus/usb usbfs rw 0 0
    tmpfs /dev/shm tmpfs rw 0 0
    how do i fix this ?

  3. #3
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Did you put # sign before /dev/cdrom yourself?

    Execute this
    Code:
    hdparm -I /dev/dvd
    hdparm -I /dev/cdrom
    Post output here.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    18
    no i did not # it out my self

    Code:
    /dev/dvd:
     HDIO_DRIVE_CMD(identify) failed: Invalid exchange
    
    
    /dev/cdrom:
     HDIO_DRIVE_CMD(identify) failed: Invalid exchange

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    18
    ok it shows up in the Device Notifier now
    all i did is install the GNOME Desktop.

    but my /etc/fstab file hasn't changed at all
    i don't know why it shows up now.

    MPlayer, Kaffeine won't show the movie
    tried Xine and got this from the Zine Log Viewer
    Code:
    xine :found demuxer plugin: Elementare MPEDG stream demux plugin
    xine: found input plugin : file input plugin
    xine: cannot find ioput plugin for MRL [dvd:/]
    xine: found input plugin : DVD Navigator
    video_out: throwing away image with pts 81033 because it's too old <diff : 5219>
    video:outthrowing away image with pts 72033 because it's too old <diff : 4368>
    xine: found demuxer plugin: Elementar MPEG stream demux plugin
    xine found input plugin : file input plugin

  6. #6
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Have you tried VLC Player? It supports most of the media formats.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    18
    ok sumthing is really screwy here
    now the DVD won't show up in the notifier
    errrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr !!!!!

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    18
    ok i followed this to setup my codecs
    How To Properly Set Up Slackware Linux

    i downloaded this file all-20071007.tar .bz2 from
    Index of /MPlayer/releases/codecs/

    and did exactly what he said:
    untar the codec archive to /usr/lib/win32
    and symlink it into /usr/lib/codecs
    then run ldconfig

    and it worked.

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    18
    here is sumthing weard
    for sum reason my Transporter 3 (Full Screen & Windescreen Edition)
    won't show up in the KDE Notifier, but Gamer will.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •