Find the answer to your Linux question:
hi, I just joined. I am new to linux or unix universe, all my life I have wasted to windows and now I started reading about linux and freeBSD and ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Slackware 13 booting problem

hi, I just joined. I am new to linux or unix universe, all my life I have wasted to windows and now I started reading about linux and freeBSD and few days ago I downloaded complete Slackware Linux 13 (complete CD's set and also full DVD). I have finished installation also. I have a Dell Optiplex 320 with 2 160GB SATA HDDs. one is for windows xp pro and other is for slackware.....last night I finished installationn of slackware and I tried to boot it but nothing all was bootlable was XP pro.....would you plz help me to figure out what should I do?

Linux Guru
    If your Slackware installation was successful and you can now only boot xp, the question is where did you put the Slackware bootloader? If you installed it to the master boot record of the drive Slackware is on, then setting that drive to first boot priority in the BIOS should enable you to boot it. This is the default. If you chose to install to the root partition of Slackware, things get a little more difficult. Since you are able to boot xp, I would expect that drive is set to first boot priority and Slackware bootloader is somewhere on the other drive.

Which drive is set first in BIOS boot priority?
    Where did you install Slackware bootloader?

Linux User
    Welcome to linux and the forum!
    Without offending anyone, Slackware is not the easiest distro for a new user to learn on (although it was my first distro), but if you are wanting to learn linux, it is the best to use because everything is customisable to your taste and nothing is 'pushed' to you.
    As yancek says, if the install worked, try one of tghe other live distros and use it to install grub/lilo and find your installed slackware.

Just Joined!