Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 10 of 10
Hey guys! So, im halfway impressed with my newbie work hehe. I have installed Slackware 13.0 from DVD on my old Ubuntu Partition alongside Vista. Equipment: Dell 1545 160HD 2.16ghz ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    8

    Unhappy [SOLVED] Just Installed. Trying to get to Windows. Lilo: "boot manager not found" (NE


    Hey guys! So, im halfway impressed with my newbie work hehe.

    I have installed Slackware 13.0 from DVD on my old Ubuntu Partition alongside Vista. Equipment: Dell 1545 160HD 2.16ghz 3GB RAM


    Situation : Lilo recognized Widows and Slackware (I only think this because at boot it has both options). I can enter Slackware then KDE without a problem. NOTE: I put LILO on MBR

    Problem: when i select "Windows", lilo says "BOOTMGR not found please restart". This does not happen when getting into slackware. (i can boot slack using that same menu, just not windows)

    Possible mistake(?). When configuring, slackware asked me if i want to make my windows partition "visible to slackware, but that this may be a security risk" at first, i said "yes" but wasn't sure where to put it (as it asked for a location) so i hit cancel. And it went back to the rest of the config. Not sure if that defaulted still to "yes" but with no location etc.......
    Also, i did ext4 for my file system....that was the default position...is this bad?

    anyhow, im a complete newbie. Any BASIC help/instructions would be of great help.

    THANKS!
    Brad
    Last edited by UbuNoob001; 03-02-2010 at 10:46 PM. Reason: title change

  2. #2
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    It looks like Slackware installer reset Boot flag of Windows OS partition. Its easy to reset it.
    Boot up Slackware and post the output of fdisk -l command here.
    Code:
    su - 
    /sbin/fdisk -l
    Post the contents of /etc/lilo.conf file too.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    8

    Smile results of /sbin/fdisk -l

    Quote Originally Posted by devils casper View Post
    It looks like Slackware installer reset Boot flag of Windows OS partition. Its easy to reset it.
    Boot up Slackware and post the output of fdisk -l command here.
    Code:
    su - 
    /sbin/fdisk -l
    Post the contents of /etc/lilo.conf file too.
    Devils, here are the results:
    Code:
     root@darkstar:~# /sbin/fdisk -l
    
    Disk /dev/sda: 160.0 GB, 160041885696 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 19457 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0xe3641cf3
    
       Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
    /dev/sda1               1           5       40131   de  Dell Utility
    /dev/sda2               6        1918    15360000    7  HPFS/NTFS
    Partition 2 does not end on cylinder boundary.
    /dev/sda3   *        1918       14303    99481610    7  HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sda4           14304       19457    41399505    5  Extended
    /dev/sda5           14304       19240    39656421   83  Linux
    /dev/sda6           19241       19457     1743021   82  Linux swap
    root@darkstar:~#

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    8

    etc/lilo.conf

    results of /etc/lilo.conf is as follows:


    Code:
    # LILO configuration file
    # generated by 'liloconfig'
    #
    # Start LILO global section
    # Append any additional kernel parameters:
    append=" vt.default_utf8=0"
    boot = /dev/sda
    
    # Boot BMP Image.
    # Bitmap in BMP format: 640x480x8
    bitmap = /boot/slack.bmp
    # Menu colors (foreground, background, shadow, highlighted
    # foreground, highlighted background, highlighted shadow):
    bmp-colors = 255,0,255,0,255,0
    # Location of the option table: location x, location y, number of
    # columns, lines per column (max 15), "spill" (this is how many
    # entries must be in the first column before the next begins to
    # be used. We don't specify it here, as there's just one column.
    bmp-table = 60,6,1,16
    # Timer location x, timer location y, foreground color,
    # background color, shadow color.
    bmp-timer = 65,27,0,255
    
    # Standard menu.
    # Or, you can comment out the bitmap menu above and 
    # use a boot message with the standard menu:
    #message = /boot/boot_message.txt
    
    # Wait until the timeout to boot (if commented out, boot the
    # first entry immediately):
    prompt
    # Timeout before the first entry boots.
    # This is given in tenths of a second, so 600 for every minute:
    timeout = 1200
    # Override dangerous defaults that rewrite the partition table:
    change-rules
    reset
    # VESA framebuffer console @ 1024x768x256
    vga = 773
    # Normal VGA console
    # vga = normal
    # VESA framebuffer console @ 1024x768x64k
    # vga=791
    # VESA framebuffer console @ 1024x768x32k
    # vga=790
    # VESA framebuffer console @ 1024x768x256
    # vga=773
    # VESA framebuffer console @ 800x600x64k
    # vga=788
    # VESA framebuffer console @ 800x600x32k
    # vga=787
    # VESA framebuffer console @ 800x600x256
    # vga=771
    # VESA framebuffer console @ 640x480x64k
    # vga=785
    # VESA framebuffer console @ 640x480x32k
    # vga=784
    # VESA framebuffer console @ 640x480x256
    # vga=769
    # End LILO global section
    # Windows bootable partition config begins
    other = /dev/sda2
    label = Windows
    table = /dev/sda
    # Windows bootable partition config ends
    # Linux bootable partition config begins
    image = /boot/vmlinuz
    root = /dev/sda5
    label = Linux 
    
    
    read-only
    # Linux bootable partition config ends
    Last edited by UbuNoob001; 03-02-2010 at 07:50 PM. Reason: format

  5. #5
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Boot up from GParted or PartedMagic LiveCD. GParted is available in Ubuntu LiveCD too.

    * Select /dev/sda3 partition, right click on it and remove Boot Flag. Click Apply.
    * Select /dev/sda2 partition, right click and assign Boot Flag. Click Apply.

    Reboot machine.

    If you use Ubuntu LiveCD, open Disk Utility package in it.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    8

    Question "BOOTMGR missing" (tried boot flag change...need other options)

    Quote Originally Posted by devils casper View Post
    Boot up from GParted or PartedMagic LiveCD. GParted is available in Ubuntu LiveCD too.

    * Select /dev/sda3 partition, right click on it and remove Boot Flag. Click Apply.
    * Select /dev/sda2 partition, right click and assign Boot Flag. Click Apply.

    Reboot machine.

    If you use Ubuntu LiveCD, open Disk Utility package in it.
    unfortunately nothing changed

  7. #7
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Do you have Windows Installation or Rescue CD? We have to check if its a Linux problem or something is wrong with Windows OS.

    Boot up from Windows Installation CD and select Repair Or boot up from Rescue CD. Execute fixmbr command at repair/rescue prompt. It will remove Lilo. Windows OS should boot up by default.

    In case you don't have Installation or Rescue CD, download SuperGRUB CD/USB. Select Fix Windows Boot option.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    8

    Thumbs up MBR/BOOTMGR missing

    Quote Originally Posted by devils casper View Post
    Do you have Windows Installation or Rescue CD? We have to check if its a Linux problem or something is wrong with Windows OS.

    Boot up from Windows Installation CD and select Repair Or boot up from Rescue CD. Execute fixmbr command at repair/rescue prompt. It will remove Lilo. Windows OS should boot up by default.
    Thanks Devils! I will try this, for now, even if i simply have to use my bootUSB to get into Linux, Im fine with that. Just need Vista for work/networking so that I can learn more about Slackware etc.

    Ill post my results!

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    8

    Lightbulb Solved

    Thanks for your help guys...I just went ahead and re-installed LILO, using "expert configuration" menu (which wasn't all that hard), selected the appropriate partitions to boot, and that was it!
    Thanks again for helping a newbie!

  10. #10
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Glad to help you ! Do start a new thread if you have any other question.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •