Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
Trying to get audio and alsamixer to work under xfce on Slackware 13.0. using 2.6.29.6-smp kernel. Have done alsaconf and alsactl store. /etc/modprobe.d/sound contains: alias snd-card-0 snd-via82xx alias sound-slot-0 snd-via82xx ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    287

    [SOLVED] No audio No alsamixer


    Trying to get audio and alsamixer to work under xfce on Slackware 13.0. using 2.6.29.6-smp kernel.
    Have done alsaconf and alsactl store.
    /etc/modprobe.d/sound contains:
    alias snd-card-0 snd-via82xx
    alias sound-slot-0 snd-via82xx

    /etc/modprobe.d/modprobe.conf contains only commented lines.

    Running aplay -l produces:
    **** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
    card 2: V8235 [VIA 8235], device 0: VIA 8235 [VIA 8235]
    Subdevices: 4/4
    Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
    Subdevice #1: subdevice #1
    Subdevice #2: subdevice #2
    Subdevice #3: subdevice #3
    card 2: V8235 [VIA 8235], device 1: VIA 8235 [VIA 8235]
    Subdevices: 1/1
    Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

    Running: cat /usr/share/apps/kolf/sounds/blackhole.wav > /dev/audio
    yields:
    /dev/audio: Invalid argument

    Running: cat /usr/share/apps/kolf/sounds/blackhole.wav > /dev/dsp
    yelds:
    /dev/dsp: Invalid argument

    Running aplay /usr/share/apps/kolf/sounds/blackhole.wav yields:
    ALSA lib pcm_dmix.c:1008snd_pcm_dmix_open) unable to open slave
    aplay: main:590: audio open error: No such file or directory
    1) Can someone elighten me on this error?

    ls -l /usr/share/apps/kolf/sounds/blackhole.wav yields:
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 391724 2009-02-26 06:28 /usr/share/apps/kolf/sounds/blackhole.wav

    When I run alsamixer all I get is "auto gain" no other mixer controls like PC speaker, IECxxx, Left/Right/Center, MIC, etc. This is not like version 12.
    2) Any clues for me on this problem?
    Last edited by clickit; 07-27-2010 at 11:28 PM.

  2. #2
    Linux Guru coopstah13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    NH, USA
    Posts
    3,149
    is your user member of audio group? you need to be in order to use sound

  3. #3
    Linux Guru reed9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    4,651
    Can you post the output of
    Code:
    cat /proc/asound/card*/codec* | grep Codec
    cat /proc/asound/version

  4. #4
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    287

    No audio No alsamixer

    reed9,
    cat /proc/asound/card*/codec* | grep Codec yields:
    cat: /proc/asound/card2/codec97#0: Is a directory

    I presume this is what u wanted because cards 0&1 had no codec in the file titles.
    Just for drill, the 2 files in codec97#0 are: ac97#0-0 ac97#0-0+regs

    cat /proc/asound/version yields:
    Advanced Linux Sound Architecture Driver Version 1.0.18a.
    alsamixer -h also returns version is 1.0.18.

    coopstah13.
    I am root.

    Does this get us any further?

  5. #5
    Linux Guru reed9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    4,651
    Hmm. Well, alsa 1.0.18 is somewhat old. You might consider installing a more recent version of alsa and seeing if that solves the issue.

    What is the output of
    Code:
    lsmod | grep via
    Also, in alsamixer, you can select the sound card by hitting F6. Perhaps that shows your card?

  6. #6
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    287

    No audio No alsamixer

    F2 gets: /proc/asound/ info below:
    /proc/asound/cards: ▒ │
    │ │=================== ▒ │
    │ │ 0 [camera ]: USB-Audio - USB camera ▒ │
    │ │ USB camera at usb-0000:00:10.3-1.2, full speed▒ │
    │ │ 1 [Bt878 ]: Bt87x - Brooktree Bt878 ▒ │
    │ │ Brooktree Bt878 at 0xdddff000, irq 10 ▒ │
    │ │ 2 [V8235 ]: VIA8233 - VIA 8235 ▒ │
    │ │ VIA 8235 with ALC650F at 0xe000, irq 5
    F3 gets: alsamixer <auto gain>
    F4 gets: alsamixer <mic>
    F5 gets: alsamixer <auto gain> and <mic>
    F6 gets: NO CHANGE

    lsmod | grep via gets:
    snd_via82xx 22772 1
    gameport 9960 1 snd_via82xx
    snd_ac97_codec 100128 1 snd_via82xx
    snd_mpu401_uart 6524 1 snd_via82xx
    via_rhine 21700 0
    snd_pcm 68128 5 snd_pcm_oss,snd_via82xx,snd_usb_audio,snd_ac97_cod ec,snd_bt87x
    mii 4380 1 via_rhine
    i2c_viapro 7440 0
    snd 50820 20 snd_seq_oss,snd_seq,snd_pcm_oss,snd_mixer_oss,snd_ via82xx,snd_usb_audio,snd_ac97_codec,snd_hwdep,snd _mpu401_uart,snd_bt87x,snd_rawmidi,snd_pcm,snd_seq _device,snd_timer
    via_agp 7900 1
    agpgart 29256 1 via_agp
    snd_page_alloc 7972 3 snd_via82xx,snd_bt87x,snd_pcm

    alsamixer version that came with ver 13.0 of slackware.

    Don't know if this impacts here, but I am having a problem with my webcam and bootup image sensor detection being flat FLAKEY. The camera has a microphone which I call out using mplayer and yesterday I was a happy camper when I was getting images. Usually if the image sensor (HV7131R ) is detected during bootup it usually worked. Today it is moaning about "unable to open, no space left on device". Don't know if that is audio (mic) related.
    Last edited by clickit; 07-27-2010 at 11:41 PM.

  7. #7
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    287

    No audio No alsamixer

    I cannot figure this out! On my 3rd bootup today 27 Jul. Now when I type alsamixer I nearly went into cardiac arrest <) There it was in all its resplendent glory.
    I never have gotten the mixer's parameters so I set master, PCM, Center and Line to 100%.
    Still no sound. Why does this appear or not at will??? Is this related to the bootup as this is the 2nd time I could find the HV7131R image sensor detected?

  8. #8
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    287

    [SOLVED] No audio No alsamixer

    On Slackware 13.0 (kernel 2.6.29.6-smp, xfce4.6.1-i486-5, ALSA Version 1.0.18a on a MSI KT4V-L ver 1.0 motherboard and V8235 PCI bridge) when running alsamixer from xfce desktop alsamixer did not have all the mixer control items displayed (just auto gain and MIC).
    SOLUTION: Ran alsamixer via command line before starting a desktop and produced an alsamixer with all of its items. Quit from alsamixer and started desktop. Thereafter, running from the desktop, alsamixer functions properly with a full compliment of control items. This gave me capability to unmute etc. and it seems to work consistently (just wait until I am desperately needing it then it will fail <);^).

    I did quickly scan a few statements from one site contending a relationship with V8235 but at the time I was querying for another reason and panned the document. If someone is familiar with this I would like to pursue it further.

    The relationship with HV7131R bridge I think now is not very likely or nebulous at best.
    Last edited by clickit; 07-30-2010 at 09:37 AM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •