Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
So I recently installed Slackware 13.1 and now want to get my D-Link DWA-140 to work with it. However I'm quite an amateur at Linux and can't seem to figure ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    3

    [SOLVED] help on getting a wireless adapter to work in slackware 13.1


    So I recently installed Slackware 13.1 and now want to get my D-Link DWA-140 to work with it. However I'm quite an amateur at Linux and can't seem to figure out how to. After following many different how-tos and tutorials this is where I am:
    I got 2010_0709_RT2870_Linux_STA_v2.4.0.1 package and rt2870.bin in my root catalog, but I don't know what exactly to do with them.

    Make & make install for the first one I assume, but are there any additional things I must do?

    What do I have to do with the second file (which is supposed to be the firmware file, the first is a USB driver)?

  2. #2
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Saint Paul, MN
    Posts
    653
    The wifi device does not appear to use the modules of:
    Code:
    rt2800usb rt2x00usb rt2x00lib
    To remove them (as user root or via "sudo":
    Code:
    rmmod rt2800usb rt2x00usb rt2x00lib
    Add these to the file"/etc/modprobe.d/blacklist.conf" again as root or sudo to prevent them from being loaded:
    Code:
    cat  <<@eof  >>/etc/modprobe.d/blacklist.conf
    blacklist rt2800usb
    blacklist rt2x00usb
    blacklist rt2x00lib
    @eof
    To load the module beleived to work (as user "root" or via "sudo"):
    Code:
    modprobe rt2870sta

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    3
    edit: got the module running but the adapter still shows no signs of any activity
    Last edited by odenasa; 10-11-2010 at 01:04 PM.

  4. #4
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Saint Paul, MN
    Posts
    653
    I don't use this device, so I am of no further help...

  5. #5
    Trusted Penguin Dapper Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Sovereign State of South Carolina
    Posts
    4,630
    odenasa, you say you are an amateur so forgive me if my questions seem too basic...

    Did you get the bin file open? Did you do as alf55 said by doing modprobe rt2870sta? Did you configure the file /etc/rc.d/rc.inet1.conf for your device?
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered: #371367 New Members: click here

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    3
    it comes out you need to install drivers for both 2870 and 3070 chipsets. the module you will want to use is rt3070sta, which uses the rt2870.dat file.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •