Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
I just upgraded from thunderbird 2.0.0.23 to thunderbird-3.1.4. I tried to change the link to the new thunderbird, but when I click on the link in the menu, nothing comes ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    47

    Can't get symbolic link changed


    I just upgraded from thunderbird 2.0.0.23 to thunderbird-3.1.4. I tried to change the link to the new thunderbird, but when I click on the link in the menu, nothing comes up. Here's the code I used:
    thunderbird
    thunderbird-2.0.0.23
    thunderbird-3.1.4
    tk8.5
    tkConfig.sh
    tr.msg
    trn
    upcase.dat
    utempter
    valid.dat
    vfs
    vte
    xchat
    xfce4
    xine
    xml2Conf.sh
    xmms
    xorg
    xsltConf.sh
    yp
    zsh
    root@darkstar:/usr/lib# ln -sf /usr/libthunderbird-3.1.4/thunderbird /usr/bin/thunderbird
    root@darkstar:/usr/lib#
    I can see that I missed the slash after lib. Since console didn't complain, the link went someplace. But, I don't where. Can anyone tell me now to create a link to the upgraded version of thunderbird?
    I just got the upgraded version of Thunderbird working. It is installed so that it does work. I cd'd to : /usr/lib/thunderbird-3.1.4/thunderbird and typed: ./thunderbird. It came up. But, the link in the menu does not work for some reason. Any help would be appreciated.
    Last edited by sandlynx; 10-11-2010 at 11:12 PM.

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    47

    Make a link

    Let me put it this way: How do I make a link from Thunderbird, new version, to the Start Menu? I screwed up the changing of links from the old version to the new version, but isn't it possible to simply create a link from the new version to the start menu entry for Thunderbird?

  3. #3
    Linux Guru coopstah13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    NH, USA
    Posts
    3,149
    you created symbolic link incorrectly, so recreate it using the correct path

    i don't know what DE/WM you are using, so it is really impossible to tell you how to edit the menu entry to point to the new thunderbird

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    47
    I'm using the KDE windown manager.

  5. #5
    Linux Guru coopstah13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    NH, USA
    Posts
    3,149
    if the menu entry is just executing /usr/bin/thunderbird, then probably just making the proper symbolic link will fix your problem

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    47
    I've tried creating a symbolic link every way I know of, and it isn't working. I'll just run it from Konsole. I don't know how to write code and I'm not a guru, so I'm pretty much lost when it comes to fixing stuff.

  7. #7
    Linux Engineer Freston's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,049
    Quote Originally Posted by sandlynx
    root@darkstar:/usr/lib# ln -sf /usr/libthunderbird-3.1.4/thunderbird /usr/bin/thunderbird
    There's a typo in there.

    This should work
    Code:
    ln -sf /usr/lib/thunderbird-3.1.4/thunderbird /usr/bin/thunderbird
    Confirm
    Code:
    which thunderbird
    # should output: /usr/bin/thunderbird
    
    ls -l `which thunderbird`
    # should output: lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 41 2010-09-20 16:09 /usr/bin/thunderbird -> /usr/lib/thunderbird-3.1.4/thunderbird*
    I've looked, but the menu entry in KDE just calls 'thunderbird', at least in KDE3.5
    Can't tell an OS by it's GUI

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    47
    Here's the code I used, and it still doesn't work in the menu.
    This is the code I used:
    sandy@darkstar:~$ su
    Password:
    root@darkstar:/home/sandy# cd /usr/lib/thunderbird-3.1.4
    root@darkstar:/usr/lib/thunderbird-3.1.4# ls
    thunderbird thunderbird-3.1.4.tar.bz2
    root@darkstar:/usr/lib/thunderbird-3.1.4# ln -sf /usr/lib/thunderbird-3.1.4/thunderbird /usr/bin/thunderbird
    root@darkstar:/usr/lib/thunderbird-3.1.4# exit
    exit
    sandy@darkstar:~$ su
    Password:
    root@darkstar:/home/sandy# cd /usr/lib/
    root@darkstar:/usr/lib# ls -l which thunderbird
    ls: cannot access which: No such file or directory
    lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 26 2010-10-13 11:10 thunderbird -> /usr/lib/thunderbird-3.1.4
    root@darkstar:/usr/lib# cd /usr/lib
    root@darkstar:/usr/lib# ls -s which thunderbird
    ls: cannot access which: No such file or directory
    thunderbird:
    total 11220
    4 thunderbird 11216 thunderbird-3.1.4.tar.bz2
    root@darkstar:/usr/lib#

  9. #9
    Linux Guru coopstah13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    NH, USA
    Posts
    3,149
    if you are trying to use which in combination with ls command, you need to back quote it like this
    Code:
    ls -l `which thunderbird`
    the menu entry is possibly pointing to the /usr/lib/thunderbird-2.0/bin file, unfortunately i don't use KDE so i can't really help you, other than right clicking on the menu entry and seeing if there is an edit option where you can specify path of executable

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •