Find the answer to your Linux question:
Guys - Im a relative Linux newbie and im trying different distros to get a broad feel for the way things are done in Linux. So far i have used ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

What am i missing?

Guys - Im a relative Linux newbie and im trying different distros to get a broad feel for the way things are done in Linux. So far i have used Ubuntu, Mint and Red Hat, all of these work fine but don't give me the raw terminal based experience that im after from boot. I have slackware running now in another vm and minimalist if what im after so this is great, question is though should i be able to or even expect that rich gui based apps like firefox will run in this tty?

Every time i try to launch a browser or xcalc something like that i get a display error (display not set) or if i set the variable it just says that that variable is not available. Startx launches the desktop environment and here everything works, but this is not what i want.

If im chasing my tail, please let me know, i can't find any posts to help me understand the problem if there is one, of if it is just that gui based programs won't run unless a window manager is started like kde etc..

Ill probably look back at this post in a couple of years and laugh at it!

cheers folks
    -A

Just Joined!
    I believe there are command line versions of the programs you need; not Firefox exactly but a web browser. Yes, if you want to run GUI applications, some support is required/expected from the underlying operating system or the OS' environment.

What you imagine, at least as I understand your post - running the Firefox you're used to from the command line without a windowed environment of some kind started - is impossible. Perhaps there's a minimalist X environment that can be loaded to provide the minimum support needed, but I haven't heard of that.