Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello all! First post... I am a fairly new user to linux. I've used windows for YEARS for everything from server work to gaming to programming... I am a student ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Question BIOS/LILO - DUAL BOOT USB Issues [No Legacy?!]

Hello all! First post...

I am a fairly new user to linux. I've used windows for YEARS for everything from server work to gaming to programming... I am a student who is interested in alternative operating systems... I have tried ubuntu and a few other distros but i've always heard good things about slackware so naturally I tried it out...

By no means am I discouraged due to these issues because lets face it... its not the most user friendly operating system out there as far as out of the box is concerned... whatever your distribution may be. Thats probably the main reason why I am enjoying it haha.

Lets get to the problem...

I am currently Dual booting windows 7 with Slackware 13.1
    As of last night I partitioned my drive... installed slackware and everything was peachy. Lilo worked, Keyboard had no problem switching operating systems.

I wake up this morning, boot up my PC and notice my Razer Tarantula Keyboard was flashing its lights (dimly) but at an abnormal frequency (Like 3-4 flashes per second) during bios initialization/post then It boots into grub... as soon as grub/lilo loads bam, all my lights go off on the keyboard. My mouse... on the otherhand (USB Razer Lachesis) is fine...

I realize there are many posts about this particular issue. After doing a bit of sifting I noticed mostly everyone with this issue has not enabled Legacy USB support in there bios... Well, I grabbed my ps/2 to USB adapter, girlfriends USB keyboard (completely different make and model) and managed to access the bios. (To no surprise I tried it without the adapter and the blinking on her keyboard commenced...)