Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
hey all, I've installed slackware 2 times and Im here to tell ya, I like it! I think the trick is in documenting your partitioning scheme choosing the correct software ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    112

    slackware noob


    hey all, I've installed slackware 2 times and Im here to tell ya, I like it!

    I think the trick is in documenting your partitioning scheme
    choosing the correct software
    configuring yoru x
    configuring your network

    CAKE!

    I do have a questing regarding sound. I believe it detected the sound card and tries to play but no sound comes out.

    Is there a sound card configuration utility. like in rehat?


    By the way I love the rpm2tgz command, it ROCKS!


    With all that said, I think I'll be converting to Slackware from now on. I'll leave RH/SUSE to my customers.

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    2
    I had the same problem, i just located "Sound Mixer", on the Kde "start menu". And turned up all the things that could be adjusted until I got sound.

  3. #3
    Linux Engineer adrenaline's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Seattle, Washington
    Posts
    1,058

    Re: slackware noob

    Quote Originally Posted by netshogun

    With all that said, I think I'll be converting to Slackware from now on. I'll leave RH/SUSE to my customers.
    If you are like me you noticed a real speed difference too. I converted like you and have not looked back since.
    "Welcome Aboard"

    Mike

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru Vergil83's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    2,407

    Re: slackware noob

    Quote Originally Posted by netshogun
    I do have a questing regarding sound. I believe it detected the sound card and tries to play but no sound comes out.

    Is there a sound card configuration utility. like in rehat?
    if your are using alsa, then try alsamixer.
    http://www.alsa-project.org/documentation.php

  6. #5
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Farnborough, UK
    Posts
    1,305
    As root try alsaconfig.

    Then if all is well try alsactl store
    Lansbury's Lido

    thekiadriver on #linuxforums - fleetingly

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    39

    Re: slackware noob

    Quote Originally Posted by adrenaline
    Quote Originally Posted by netshogun

    With all that said, I think I'll be converting to Slackware from now on. I'll leave RH/SUSE to my customers.
    If you are like me you noticed a real speed difference too. I converted like you and have not looked back since.
    "Welcome Aboard"

    Mike
    As I wish my students would be like that... 60% prefer RH, but the rest when they get used to Slack they become fast and efficient.

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Chris H
    As root try alsaconfig.

    Then if all is well try alsactl store
    i believe it's alsaconf

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    19
    i had the same problem when i added a tv tuner card.

    i use debian now. it has superior hotplug system and it does almost everything for you. try knoppix

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •