Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 30
Hey, I gave up on Crux, couldn't get it working. Decided to go with Slackware which was surprisingly easy to get up and running. I am using Fluxbox, and I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    42

    Slackware + Fluxbox + no internet connection


    Hey,

    I gave up on Crux, couldn't get it working. Decided to go with Slackware which was surprisingly easy to get up and running.

    I am using Fluxbox, and I have no internet for some reason. When I was running Ubuntu with Gnome and then xfce I had no problem, didn't even have to do any configuration.

    Any ideas how I can deal with this?

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    42
    OK it's not just Fluxbox, switched to KDE and not internet either

  3. #3
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    Hi there.

    Is this an issue with wired connectivity, wireless or both?
    This link here is for wireless connection, but it can be used for troubleshooting wired, as well.
    Read through it, and post back here with the requested info.
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Guest
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    312
    Post output

    Code:
    ifconfig -a

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    42
    Quote Originally Posted by jayd512 View Post
    Hi there.

    Is this an issue with wired connectivity, wireless or both?
    This link here[/URL] is for wireless connection, but it can be used for troubleshooting wired, as well.
    Read through it, and post back here with the requested info.
    It's wired. As I don't have an internet connection on the machine it could be difficult to post the output but I will see what I can do tomorrow.

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    42
    Quote Originally Posted by caravel View Post
    Post output

    Code:
    ifconfig -a
    Hey. This is quite worrying but I am getting an error that this command doesn't exist, anybody know why that could be?

  8. #7
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    /sbin might not be in your default path. Try /sbin/ifconfig -a.
    As far as having no connection to post back the replies, you can save the output of the commands as a .txt file.
    If you have a flash drive, you can easily transfer that file to another computer to post here.
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    42
    Quote Originally Posted by jayd512 View Post
    /sbin might not be in your default path. Try /sbin/ifconfig -a.
    As far as having no connection to post back the replies, you can save the output of the commands as a .txt file.
    If you have a flash drive, you can easily transfer that file to another computer to post here.
    OK I added /sbin to my default path so that's working.

    Now I am having trouble mounting my usb drive, it's one thing after the next.

    I tried (can't post the link), but when I try mount /dev/sda1 /mnt/usbkey and then sda 2 - 10 I get device does not exist.

    Thanks for the help

  10. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    42
    Here's what I am trying for the usb drive:

    Open a console window (under KDE is called konsole)
    Login as root: type su and enter the password
    Change directory: cd /mnt
    Create a new directory: mkdir usbkey (if not exists)
    Try to mount your USB-key: mount /dev/sda1 /mnt/usbkey
    If it doesn't works you may try another device (e.g. /dev/sda2)
    If it works you can list the files in the key: ls /mnt/usbkey
    Unmount the device: umount /mnt/usbkey
    Open for edit the file /etc/fstab with a text-editor
    Add this line: /dev/sda1 /mnt/usbkey vfat noauto,users,rw,umask=0 0 0
    Save and close the file
    Leave the root user: press CTRL+D or enter the command exit
    Now you can mount the key from your account: mount /mnt/usbkey
    For unmounting the key: umount /mnt/usbkey

  11. #10
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    You USB key is most likely named sdb1. That's what my drive is on Slack. So, as root:
    1. mkdir /mnt/sdb1
    2. mount /dev/sdb1 /mnt/sdb1
    3. Transfer file to USB drive using cp or mv
    4. umount /dev/sdb1
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •