Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 10 of 10
me and my buddy have installed the keyboard wrong...and we need to figure out how to use the rescue disk to re-install it. Any help?...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    8

    Slackware - Keyboard not working, rescue disk?


    me and my buddy have installed the keyboard wrong...and we need to figure out how to use the rescue disk to re-install it. Any help?

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    1,267
    is your keyboard working at all?
    there a file you can edit to make the correct change.
    if you use X, you can edit you XF86Config file to change your keyboard setup.
    \"Meditative mind\'s is like a vast ocean... whatever strikes the surface, the bottom stays calm\" - Dalai Lama
    \"Competition ultimatly comes down to one thing... a loser and a winner.\" - Ugo Deschamps

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    8
    Where do I go to edit this file you speak of?

    (p.s. thank you SO much )

  4. #4
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    1,267
    well, do you know what is the environment youre using?
    if it is X, heres my reading on XF86Config (which is a standard 101 keyboard)
    Code:
    Section "InputDevice"
        Identifier "Keyboard1"
        Driver "Keyboard"
        Option "XkbModel" "pc101"
        Option "XkbLayout" "us"
        Option "AutoRepeat" "500 30"
        Option "XkbRules" "xfree86"
    EndSection
    otherwise (still using X) if you have access to your Control Center, you can modify the keyboard in there (similar to control panel under Windows)

    EDIT :
    oops forgot one thing, the XF86Config file is located in
    /etc/X11/
    \"Meditative mind\'s is like a vast ocean... whatever strikes the surface, the bottom stays calm\" - Dalai Lama
    \"Competition ultimatly comes down to one thing... a loser and a winner.\" - Ugo Deschamps

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    8
    the problem is..I can't boot to the actual slackware screen..we can't log in due to no-keyboard use during bootup. So how would i configure this or do what you told me to do if my keyboard doesn't work during boot?

  6. #6
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    1,267
    Your absolutly right! I though you could boot into Linux,...
    gimme a few minutes, Ill find something
    \"Meditative mind\'s is like a vast ocean... whatever strikes the surface, the bottom stays calm\" - Dalai Lama
    \"Competition ultimatly comes down to one thing... a loser and a winner.\" - Ugo Deschamps

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    8
    The only things I have in my /etc directory are..

    HOSTNAME hosts login.defs passwd shells
    dialogrc inittab motd profile syslog.conf
    disk2 issue mtab rc.d termcap
    fstab keymaps.tar.gz ...so on..

    no X11

  8. #8
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    1,267
    During booting up, can you go into Verbose mode and tell us if the GPM module loads fine
    \"Meditative mind\'s is like a vast ocean... whatever strikes the surface, the bottom stays calm\" - Dalai Lama
    \"Competition ultimatly comes down to one thing... a loser and a winner.\" - Ugo Deschamps

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    8
    I'm not familiar with loading in verbose mode using slackware? could you please give me some insight. I'm very interested in learning slackware..I justn eed some help. I'm at the root@slackware:/# screen right now. What do I do now.

  10. #10
    Linux Guru Vergil83's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    2,407
    actually I had the same problem 4 months ago, and I never figured out why
    http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/topic-23594.html
    I ended up just reinstalling

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •