Find the answer to your Linux question:
I am trying to get my machine that I installed Slackware 14 onto connected to my internet via ethernet cable. I am new to almost all thing Linux so I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Connecting Slackware 14 to the internet via ethernet

I am trying to get my machine that I installed Slackware 14 onto connected to my internet via ethernet cable. I am new to almost all thing Linux so I do not know the needed outputs but I can provide them if necessary.

Trusted Penguin
    Hi,
    I've moved your post to the Slackware forum. Hopefully, you'll get some more looks there.

Trusted Penguin
    Quote Originally Posted by Stormeyes View Post
    I am trying to get my machine that I installed Slackware 14 onto connected to my internet via ethernet cable. I am new to almost all thing Linux so I do not know the needed outputs but I can provide them if necessary.
    I don't hav a slackware box, but I can offer some generic suggestions:

1. have you checked your physical cable connection b/t the PC and the router/modem/whatever? Is there an LED link light on both sides?

2. is your PC supposed to get an IP address assigned to you? If you don't know, then probably yes. To what is the PC connecting?

3. show current state of network config:
    Code:
    ifconfig
    Code:
    route -n
    Code:
    cat /etc/resolv.conf

Just Joined!
    I just did a brand-new Slackware 14 install, and haven't had any problem connecting to the Internet with it (other than a browser issue described elsewhere). On the other hand, I've been messing with network stuff for a while (mostly in Windows, but I also recently did a Debian install), and I'm sure that helped me a lot.