Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
hi guys just installed slackware on one of my old p4's messing around with cli the text is tiny now i googled and added vga=771 to my lilo.conf file this ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    56

    Adjusting command line resolution


    hi guys

    just installed slackware on one of my old p4's
    messing around with cli
    the text is tiny
    now i googled and added vga=771 to my lilo.conf file this didnt help...i was thinking 800x600 on the cli would be good

    my text is really small please help

    j0n1n

  2. #2
    Trusted Penguin Irithori's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Munich
    Posts
    3,444
    This is not an answer to your question, but fwiw:
    Why even bother with the local console.

    Start sshd, connect from remote, done.
    Provided this p4 machine has network, of course.
    You must always face the curtain with a bow.

  3. #3
    Trusted Penguin
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    4,353
    Quote Originally Posted by j0n1n View Post
    just installed slackware on one of my old p4's
    messing around with cli
    the text is tiny
    now i googled and added vga=771 to my lilo.conf file this didnt help...i was thinking 800x600 on the cli would be good
    support for that has to be built into the kernel. perhaps it is not built in, or you specified an incorrect mode (more likely)? see the Video Mode Numbers table listed here.

    alternatively, try this kernel parameter at boot time:
    Code:
    vga=ask
    it should give you a list of supported console fonts (versus framebuffer fonts).

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    56
    actually i did what coyote said...i put the box in the corner, no screen and i ssh into it from my computer at the house
    pretty cool, always wanted to do that

    can anybody recommend a cool project to do with two linux machines hooked up over the internet...im logged in and im like...now what??? LOL

    thanks for the answers

  6. #5
    Trusted Penguin Irithori's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Munich
    Posts
    3,444
    Maybe use your linux box for a little learning project?
    e.g. git
    Code School - Try Git
    Git - Getting Started
    Then use that knowledge and set up a git repository over ssh
    (Which boils down to <5min of work)

    Then a language, e.g. ruby
    Code School - TryRuby
    Ruby in Twenty Minutes

    Btw, these two skills can be combined. Use the repo to store your ruby code.
    You must always face the curtain with a bow.

  7. #6
    Trusted Penguin
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    4,353
    Quote Originally Posted by j0n1n View Post
    can anybody recommend a cool project to do with two linux machines hooked up over the internet...im logged in and im like...now what??? LOL
    set up a file server via Samba maybe? host some files (MP3s, etc.) on your Linux box, shared the directory via samba, then access the tunes via another (often Windows) box. that is one fairly common example of networking. note that it does not require internet connectivity, per se, just a private LAN connection b/t the two boxes. of course you could make use of the internet connection by using scripts to d/l album art and CDDB info for tracks.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •